Review: Euphoria Kids by Alison Evans

Title: Euphoria Kids

Author: Alison Evans

Published: February 4th 2020, Echo Publishing

Status: Read February 2020 courtesy Echo Publishing/BFredericksPR

++++++

My Thoughts:

Euphoria Kids is an enchanting tale of identity, friendship, and belonging for young adults from Alison Evans.

Told with imagination and tenderness, it introduces Iris, identified as non-binary, who makes a wish for a friend and finds first Babs, a girl who often not only feels, but sometimes is, invisible, and a trans boy, new to the school, who has not yet found his real name.

The prose is lyrical with a whimsical tone. Using magic in part as a metaphor, Evan’s characters explore their who they are, and who they want to be, supporting one another in finding and facing their truths. And as with all fairytales there is a happy ending.

I (a cis, straight, white woman in her 40’s) am not the target audience for this book but I do appreciate, and respect, the author’s intent to provide representation and support for genderqueer youth. I hope this book finds it way into schools and libraries where it will have a chance to work its magic for those in need.

++++++

Available from Echo Publishing

Or from your preferred retailer via Booko I Book Depository

Read an Extract

6 thoughts on “Review: Euphoria Kids by Alison Evans

  1. Fascinated by this book and yes I do hope it finds its ways into schools and libraries. I have to admit I’ve only learned about non binary and trans gender most likely in the last 6 or 7 years. So close off has it been, so there fore its good for the likes of me to get into their minds and feelings.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh, I think I saw this cover a few times but I had no idea of the non-binary and trans rep! I love diverse reads and I’ve done some gender-questioning myself so this sounds intriguing 🙂 Thanks for the review!

    Like

I want to know what you think! Your comments are appreciated.