Review: Yes, My Accent is Real by Kunal Nayyar

 

Title: Yes, My Accent is Real : and Some Other Things I Haven’t Told You

Author: Kunal Nayyar

Published: Simon & Schuster Au September 2015

Status: Read on September 20, 2015 — I own a copy

My Thoughts:

As a fan of The Big Bang Theory I couldn’t pass up the chance to learn more about the endearing actor who plays Raj Koothrappali, actor Kunal Nayyar.

Yes, My Accent is Real: and Some Other Things I Haven’t Told You is a collection of stories and anecdotes from his life.

It begins with stories from his childhood in India spent dreaming of kissing Winnie from ‘The Wonder Years’ and playing badminton like a champ, before moving on to his time at college in the US, his interest in acting and landing the role of Raj on the The Big Bang Theory.

Kunar also writes about his family, especially his admiration for his father, his joy at marrying his wife, and his enjoyment and respect for the cultural traditions of his country. I was a little disappointed there wasn’t more about his daily life as part of The Big Bang Theory cast though.

Kunal proves to be a sweet, genuine and self deprecating storyteller. Yes, My Accent is Real is a charming, funny and easy read.

* Please note I choose not to rate memoirs

Available to purchase from

Simon & Schuster Iboomerang-books_long I Booktopia I Amazon AUvia Booko

Amazon US I Book Depository

and all good bookstores.

 

One thought on “Review: Yes, My Accent is Real by Kunal Nayyar

  1. I saw this book mentioned in a magzaine the other day and instantly added it to my wishlist. I love memoirs and really want to read this one. That’s too bad it doesn’t mentioned Big Bang Theory much – I’m a super fan! Thanks for sharing your thoughts!

    Like

I want to know what you think! Your comments are appreciated.