Review: Can You Keep a Secret? by Caroline Overington

 

Title: Can You Keep a Secret?

Author: Caroline Overington

Published: Random House AU September 2014

Read an Excerpt

Status: Read from September 09 to 11, 2014 — I own a copy   {Courtesy the publisher/Netgalley}

My Thoughts:

It happens on very rare occasions that I can’t quite figure out how to articulate my thoughts about a book. I have written and rewritten my thoughts about Can You Keep A Secret? a half a dozen times and still can’t pull together anything cohesive.

I think it is because I didn’t like it for reasons that are purely emotive. I know that when I finished the last page I dropped my Kindle in a mixture of frustration and incredulity. Some sort of trust had been broken between the author and myself that I can only partially attribute to the protagonist’s ‘secret’, and feels too complicated to explain.

Can You Keep a Secret? is available to purchase from

Random House Iboomerang-books_long I Booktopia I Bookworld I via Booko

Amazon AU  I Amazon US

and all good bookstores.

Also by Caroline Overington reviewed at Book’d Out


awwbadge_2014

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kathrynsinbox
    Sep 15, 2014 @ 19:52:32

    It is disappointing when books do not turn out as you would like or expect–or when you find that for whatever reason, you just cannot connect with the ending. I have not read this one, so I cannot offer any insights there, but I’ll keep my fingers crossed that the next book you read works a bit better for you.

    Like

    Reply

  2. Debbish
    Sep 15, 2014 @ 22:09:35

    I found it hard to write about without giving anything away. I thought it had something interesting to say about our online lives…. but going much further than that – well, it’s giving too much away!

    Like

    Reply

  3. laurelrainsnow
    Sep 16, 2014 @ 00:19:09

    I have had that experience with the occasional book…it is very frustrating! So sorry you didn’t enjoy this one.

    Like

    Reply

I want to know what you think! Your comments are appreciated.

