Review: Can You Keep a Secret? by Caroline Overington

 

Title: Can You Keep a Secret?

Author: Caroline Overington

Published: Random House AU September 2014

Read an Excerpt

Status: Read from September 09 to 11, 2014 — I own a copy   {Courtesy the publisher/Netgalley}

My Thoughts:

It happens on very rare occasions that I can’t quite figure out how to articulate my thoughts about a book. I have written and rewritten my thoughts about Can You Keep A Secret? a half a dozen times and still can’t pull together anything cohesive.

I think it is because I didn’t like it for reasons that are purely emotive. I know that when I finished the last page I dropped my Kindle in a mixture of frustration and incredulity. Some sort of trust had been broken between the author and myself that I can only partially attribute to the protagonist’s ‘secret’, and feels too complicated to explain.

Can You Keep a Secret? is available to purchase from

Random House Iboomerang-books_long I Booktopia I Bookworld I via Booko

Amazon AU  I Amazon US

and all good bookstores.

Also by Caroline Overington reviewed at Book’d Out


awwbadge_2014

4 thoughts on “Review: Can You Keep a Secret? by Caroline Overington

  1. It is disappointing when books do not turn out as you would like or expect–or when you find that for whatever reason, you just cannot connect with the ending. I have not read this one, so I cannot offer any insights there, but I’ll keep my fingers crossed that the next book you read works a bit better for you.

    Like

  2. I found it hard to write about without giving anything away. I thought it had something interesting to say about our online lives…. but going much further than that – well, it’s giving too much away!

    Like

I want to know what you think! Your comments are appreciated.