Nonfiction November: Worldview Changers

 

Reading memoirs offer many benefits. They can teach us empathy and compassion, and offer inspiration and empowerment. I’m appalled by the level of vitriol currently directed at transgender people globally, and to that end my recommendation for this prompt from the books I’ve read this year is The All Of It: A Bogan Rhapsody by Cadance Bell.

Sharing her journey as a transgender woman who began life as Benjamin in Mudgee in 1984, The All of It: A Bogan Rhapsody is an authentic, moving and often funny memoir from Australian author, director, producer and writer, Cadance Bell. Bell is an excellent storyteller as she leads us through her childhood into adulthood, sharing important moments of discovery, achievement, realisation and loss. Her experiences are familiar, full of the ordinary sorrows and joys of life, yet also unique. Hiding her truth came at great cost, confused and ashamed by their gender dysphoria, terrified someone would discover her secret stashes of magazines and women’s clothes, Bell succumbed to food and drug addictions, fell victim to an abuser, and hid himself away. Until Bell realised something had to change.

The author is Australian, but I think much of their experience is likely universal. I want to recommend it to everyone, especially anyone who may be grappling with their gender identity, or trying to understand someone who is.

Here are three other memoirs by transgender people that have been recommended to me.



“Before you judge my life, my past or my character, walk in my shoes, walk the path I have travelled, live my sorrow, my doubts, my fear, my pain and my laughter. Remember, everyone has a story of their own. When you’ve lived my life, then you can judge me…” -anonymous 

13 thoughts on “Nonfiction November: Worldview Changers

  1. These sound great, and it’s an important topic to understand. I’ve appreciated the fiction I’ve read about people who are transgender, but I haven’t read any memoirs. Thanks for the recommendations!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m happy to see so many books recommended on November Nonfiction about transgenderism. I read a great one this year too (Tomorrow Will Be Different). I have a friend who is transgender, and these books help me understand more about what she has to go through.

    Liked by 1 person

I want to know what you think! Your comments are appreciated.