Dear Santa…

 

The truth is my family and friends believe I have enough (ie. too many) books so I never receive any for Christmas (or birthdays), but each year there are books that I failed to get my hands on and remain on my wishlist.

Here are (just) ten books published during 2019 that I would still like to add to my (overflowing) shelves (in no particular order)… you know, just in case you were wondering what to get me 😉

{click the cover to view on Goodreads}

 

The Weekend by Charlotte Wood

The Weekend explores growing old and growing up, and what happens when we’re forced to uncover the lies we tell ourselves. Sharply observed and excruciatingly funny, this is a jewel of a book: a celebration of tenderness and friendship that is nothing short of a masterpiece.

 

Lady in the Lake by Laura Lippman

A stunning, multi-voiced thriller – tackling race, gender politics, and the volatility of mid ’60s America – from one of today’s most interesting crime writing voices.

The Wife and the Widow by Christian White

Brilliant and beguiling, The Wife and The Widow takes you to a cliff edge and asks the question: how well do we really know the people we love?

 

The Inn by Candice Fox and James Patterson

An ex-detective is starting over in a small town, but his past won’t let him go in this captivating new stand alone from the world’s bestselling thriller writer.

 

The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek by Kim Michele Richardson

a story of raw courage,  fierce strength, and one woman’s belief that books can carry us anywhere — even back home.

 

Too Much Lip by Melissa Luschenko

Gritty and darkly hilarious, Too Much Lip offers redemption and forgiveness where none seems possible.

 

The Institute by Stephen King

As psychically terrifying as Firestarter, and with the spectacular kid power of It, The Institute is Stephen King’s gut-wrenchingly dramatic story of good vs. evil in a world where the good guys don’t always win.

 

River of Salt by Dave Warner

‘Dave Warner captures the heyday and spirit of the surf music scene perfectly. This is a pitch-perfect crime thriller of epic twists and turns.’ Jim Skiathitis, composer, guitarist,
The Atlantics

 

Boy Swallows Universe by Trent Dalton

A novel of love, crime, magic, fate and coming of age, set in Brisbane’s violent working class suburban fringe – from one of Australia’s most exciting new writers.

 

Things in Jars by Jess Kidd

Blending darkness and light, history and folklore, Things in Jars is a spellbinding Gothic mystery that collapses the boundary between fact and fairy tale to stunning effect and explores what it means to be human in inhumane times.

 

Are any of these on your list?

13 thoughts on “Dear Santa…

  1. I think I’ve won a copy of The Weekend in a competition, so must check my PO box tomorrow in case it’s there.

    I bought the Dalton for myself last Christmas and loved it. Borrowed The Wife and The Widow from a friend and enjoyed it. Also enjoyed The Institute, The Inn and the Laura Lippman.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Clever of you to plant such a big hint – that way you avoid some big mistakes or (horror) finding on Christmas Day that no-one has bought you any books.Their excuses? 1) they never know what to buy you 2) you already have loads of books so surely you don;t want any more….

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Books are always my favorite gifts to receive and like you I have too many and still want more—but I rarely ever receive them as gifts. I can probably count on one hand how many times I’ve ever been specifically asked if there’s a particular book I’d like. I feel like books are the easiest present to buy someone too!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m the same! My family never buy me books because I used to work in publishing and they have this misguided belief that I can get books for free. Luckily my husband always buys me books from my wishlist!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek is the most appealing to me, though I’ve not come across any of these before. Fortunately, my dear friends buy me many books so it’s a time of plenty – plus some book tokens – around Christmas then my January birthday!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I think we will always have lists of books that we want and darn those family members who won’t gift them to us! 🙂 I am lucky that books are always under the tree for me.

    Liked by 1 person

I want to know what you think! Your comments are appreciated.