Review: The Martian by Andy Weir

 

Title: The Martian

Author: Andy Weir

Published: Crown Publishing Jan 2014

Read an Excerpt

Status: Read from January 29 to 31, 2015 — I own a copy   {Courtesy the publisher/Edelweiss}

My Thoughts:

“So that’s the situation. I’m stranded on Mars. I have no way to communicate with Hermes or Earth. Everyone thinks I’m dead. I’m in a Hab designed to last thirty-one days. If the oxygenator breaks down, I’ll suffocate. If the water reclaimer breaks down, I’ll die of thirst. If the Hab breaches, I’ll just kind of explode. If none of those things happen, I’ll eventually run out of food and starve to death.
So yeah. I’m fucked.”

I wasn’t expecting The Martian to be funny but I found myself chuckling surprisingly often. Watney’s logs are full of witty wisecracks and good humour, even if it is occasionally juvenile and crude. Mark Watney is an optimist – perhaps the ultimate optimist. No matter the challenges thrown at him – lack of food, an exploding tent, a smashed faceplate, disco music, he just keeps going, solving one problem at a time. Watney’s MacGyver-like skill may be a little hard to swallow but I was willing to go with it and believe in him.

“Also, I have duct tape. Ordinary duct tape, like you buy at a hardware store. Turns out even NASA can’t improve on duct tape.”

The amount of tension was also a surprise, with each setback on Mars, and back on Earth as the rescue effort gets underway, I found myself more and more anxious for Watney. I really wasn’t sure if he would or would not survive, but I desperately wanted him to find a way off of the planet and get back home.

“Mars and my stupidity keep trying to kill me.”

I have no idea if the science in The Martian is accurate, but I believed Weir anyway, plus this is science fiction so he is allowed plenty of leeway. While I admit that on occasion I found some of the technical detail tedious, I appreciated the sense of authenticity it lent to the story, and I feel like I learnt stuff – always a bonus.

“The chemistry is on my side. the question now is how do I actually make this reaction happen slowly, and how do I collect the hydrogen? The answer is: I don’t know.
I suppose I’ll think of something. Or die.”

Witty, clever and thrilling The Martian is a terrific read. Science fiction is far from my favourite genre but this book may well be one of my favourites of the year.

Available to Purchase From

Crown I Amazon US I BookDepository I Indiebound

via Booko

eclecticreader15
SciFi set in space

12 thoughts on “Review: The Martian by Andy Weir

  1. I pretty much agree with you across the board. The only reason I gave it a 3.5/4 instead of a 4/4 is because of all the technical descriptions Weir gave. But as far as the humor is concerned, as well as the amount of poignant moments, it was terrific. booksage.blogspot.com

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great review, and I totally agree with you, it was one of my fav reads of 2014. According to the author, the science is real too which is very impressive!

    Like

  3. I’ve heard such good things about this one. I’m planning on listening to it. I think I bypassed it initially because I didn’t think I’d enjoy the sci-fi atmosphere, but I’m willing to give it a try.

    Like

  4. High praise, I was convinced by the sheer volume of positive reviews to pick up this one up on audio even though I’m still a bit ‘iffy’. Hope I enjoy it as much as you did.

    Like

  5. I thought it was a lot funnier than I had expected as well. I really enjoyed the character. He was a fun guy to hang out with. There were a few times when I skimmed over the technical details, but I agree that they made it seem more credible.

    Like

I want to know what you think! Your comments are appreciated.