Review: Death Takes a Holiday by Jennifer Harlow

Title: Death Takes a Holiday {A F.R.E.A.K.S. Squad Investigations #3}

Author: Jennifer Harlow

Published: Midnight ink August 2013

Read an Excerpt

Status: Read from August 09 to 10, 2013 — I own a copy {Courtesy Midnight Ink/Netgalley}

My Thoughts:

Earlier this year I read and enjoyed Jennifer Harlow’s new series debut, What’s a Witch to Do?, a spin off from her popular F.R.E.A.K.S Squad Investigation series. Death Takes A Holiday is the third book in the aforementioned series which I was eager to sample.

It is the combination of cozy mystery, paranormal and snarky humour in this series that appeals to me.

The characters of the Death Takes a Holiday felt almost immediately familiar, I think largely because of their similarities to those in What’s A Witch To Do?. Beatrice is feisty and resourceful, bringing down a basilisk in the first few pages with the help of her telekinetic skills and a really sharp knife.
She isn’t quite as decisive when it comes to her romantic life though, the love triangle between Beatrice, Will and Oliver features heavily in this book, the angst causing division amongst the F.R.E.A.K.S squad and leaving Beatrice contemplating the possibility of quitting.

Going home for Christmas is supposed to give Beatrice the time to think about the whole mess but instead she quickly finds herself embroiled in trouble. A powerful (and sexy) vampire Lord has decided Beatrice would make a wonderful wife and her ex boyfriend wants her back.

Death Takes a Holiday is a fun and fast read, and I really enjoy escaping into Harlow’s world of monsters and mayhem. I’ll definitely be picking up the next book.

Available to Purchase From

Midnight Ink I AmazonUS I BookDepository

6 thoughts on “Review: Death Takes a Holiday by Jennifer Harlow

I want to know what you think! Your comments are appreciated.