Stuff On Sunday: Weekend Cooking – Cinnamon Swirl Cake

wkendcooking

I’ve decided to make the Weekend Cooking meme, hosted by Beth Fish Reads  a regular monthly post at Book’d Out. Cooking is something I enjoy and I have been making more of an effort again lately, so I am looking forward to sharing some of my culinary adventures.

**********************

Winter is slowly creeping over the landscape in Australia, the wind is growing chill, the clouds are dark and the rain falls loudly on my tin roof. The cold leaves me craving sweet warm comfort foods like this delicious Cinnamon Swirl Cake. Quick and simple to put together using ingredients most people would already have on hand it didn’t last long in my house.

I ate it while reading The Storied Life of A.J Firky by Gabrielle Zevin

cinnamonrollcake

Cinnamon Swirl Cake

  • Cake

    • 3 c. flour
    • 1/4 tsp.salt
    • 1 c. sugar
    • 4 tsp. baking powder
    • 1 1/2 c. milk
    • 2 eggs
    • 2 tsp. vanilla
    • 1/2 c. (125g) butter, melted
  • topping

    •  1/2 c. (125g) butter, well softened
    •  1/2 c. brown sugar
    •  1 Tbsp. flour
    • 1 Tbsp. cinnamon
  • Glaze

    • 2 c. powdered (icing) sugar
    • 5 Tbsp. milk
    • 1 tsp. vanilla

Instructions

  1. Mix everything together except for the butter. Slowly stir in the melted butter and pour into a greased and lined 9 x1 3 pan.
  2. For the topping, mix all the ingredients together until well combined. Drop evenly over the batter and swirl through with a knife.
  3. Bake at 350 for 28-32 minutes.
  4. While warm drizzle the glaze over the cake.

 

 

9 thoughts on “Stuff On Sunday: Weekend Cooking – Cinnamon Swirl Cake

  1. Yum. I’m spending the day with a friend next week and I think this would be the perfect treat to take. Thanks Shelleyrae 🙂

    Like

I want to know what you think! Your comments are appreciated.