Review: Touch of Power {Healer #1} by Maria V Snyder

Title: Touch of Power {Healer #1}

Author: Maria V Snyder

Published: Mira Dec 2011

Synopsis: Laying hands upon the injured and dying, Avry of Kazan absorbs their wounds and diseases into herself. But rather than being honored for her skills, she is hunted. Healers like Avry are accused of spreading the plague that has decimated the Fifteen Realms, leaving the survivors in a state of chaos. Stressed and tired from hiding, Avry is abducted by a band of rogues who, shockingly, value her gift above the golden bounty offered for her capture. Their leader, an enigmatic captor-protector with powers of his own, is unequivocal in his demands: Avry must heal a plague-stricken prince—leader of a campaign against her people. As they traverse the daunting Nine Mountains, beset by mercenaries and magical dangers, Avry must decide who is worth healing and what is worth dying for. Because the price of peace may well be her life….

Status: Read on December 15, 2011 — I own a copy {Courtesy Harlequin/NetGalley}

My Thoughts:

Touch of Power is a new series debut for Maria V Snyder whose StudyGlass  and Insider  series have earned her many fans.
As a newly apprenticed Healer, Avry of Kazan has been in hiding since a plague swept through the Fifteen Realms decimating the population. Panicked villagers blamed the disease on the Healers, a small group of people with the natural born skill to absorb sickness and pain, who seemed to be immune to the fatal plague yet could not save the people from it. Finally caught and just hours from execution, Avry is rescued by a group of soldiers yet her death sentence has not be commuted but simply stayed, for they have abducted Avry to save the life of their plague stricken King. During the dangerous trek across the Realms at the mercy of magic and mercenaries to reach the King, Avry has a decision to make, does she save the King, or herself?

Snyder takes her readers on quite an adventure across her mythical lands.  I enjoyed the creativity which governs the Fifteen Realms Since I am not a huge fan of high fantasy I was glad that Touch of Power has a contemporary feel though it’s setting is decidedly other, somewhere between medieval and dystopian really, yet it works surprisingly well. The story is almost an old fashioned quest as Avry and Kerrick’s team battle murderous bounty hunters, killer plants, zombies and sociopathic rulers to rescue the King and save their country. There is plenty of action, drama and suspense as well humour and romance that creates an easy to read page turner.

In Avry of Kazan, Snyder has created a smart, resourceful and strong protagonist for her new series. Avry’s unique ability to heal should be regarded as a blessing but it is as much a curse for when Avry heals she takes the pain and suffering of the affliction into herself. As a Healer her power that allows her to survive almost anything, including the fatal embrace of the Death Lily, except the ravages of the plague. I liked Avry’s attitude, she is outspoken and a little rash at times but with so few options available to her I appreciate her determination to create her own fate.
Avry’s saviours, Kerrick and his motley crew of mercenaries – Belen, Vinn, Quain and Flea, are surprisingly endearing characters and I really enjoyed it as the bonds between the men and Avry developed. While a relationship between Avry and Kerrick does evolve, it does so slowly and works well within the story. Kerrick is just a little ‘alpha’ but his sense of loyalty, honour and desire to protect make up for his arrogance.

Snyder expertly balances adventure, fantasy, drama and romance with interesting characters and a creatively imagined world for a wide audience. I was surprised at how much I enjoyed Touch of Power, though probably I shouldn’t have been since it has similarities to Poison Study which I liked a lot as well,  and I’m already looking forward to the release of the second book expected in 2012.

Available to Purchase

@ Amazon I @ Bookdepository I @ Harlequin

13 thoughts on “Review: Touch of Power {Healer #1} by Maria V Snyder

  1. I plan to buy a copy of this for myself after Christmas. I started it on my eReader, but the formatting was not ideal. I am hoping to get into it better with a print copy.

    Like

    1. Sometimes formatting can really affect the reading experience can’t it, It’s definately one area in most publishers need to improve

      Like

  2. I definitely thought that there was some correlation with Poison Study when I read this, but I thought it was a bit confused as to what sort of book it was meant to be – adult or YA, and also that it lacked a little depth.

    Having said that, I will be on board for the next book in the series.

    Like

    1. I actually don’t mind that it was neither quite YA or or adult Marg since it had more appeal for me than if it was YA

      Like

  3. I’ve been curious about this. Now I kinda sorta really wanna read it. I love when books have a good balance of action and romance. And, uh, you mentioned something about zombies?

    *eyes glaze over adoringly*

    ZOMBIES. ME WANTS.
    Good review 🙂

    Like

  4. I liked this book a lot too. I love how Maria writes strong female leads and her ideas are really neat. Very different from what I normally read. And I also love how Avry bonds with the guys. Great review Shelleyrae!

    Like

  5. Yes the first book was very entertaining. I like strong female characters in books, TV shows, and movies. I’m sure freud would like a look in my head, I like these kind of books. I’m sad that I will have to wait til 2013 for the next book.

    Like

I want to know what you think! Your comments are appreciated.