Review: Prey by Rachel Vincent

Title: Prey {Shifters #4}

Author: Rachel Vincent

Published: Mira July 2009

Sypnosis: Sometimes playing cat and mouse is no game… Play? Right. My Pride is under fire from all sides, my father’s authority is in question and my lover is in exile. Which means I haven’t laid eyes on Marc’s gorgeous face in months. And with a new mother and an I-know-everything teenager under my protection, I don’t exactly have time to fantasize about ever seeing him again. Then our long-awaited reunion is ruined by a vicious ambush by strays. Now our group is under attack, Marc is missing and I will need every bit of skill and smarts to keep my family from being torn apart. Forever.

Status: Read from February 16 to 17, 2011 — I own a copy

My Thoughts:

Prey, the fourth installment is Rachel Vincent’s Shifters series, is a maelstrom of non stop action and emotional upheaval. The Pride is suffering under the manipulation of Malone and his council cronies, Marc has gone missing, Kayci is slowly killing herself, and grieving for a beloved pride mate Faythe makes a decision that changes everything. Vincent juggles the series arc’s and the events in this book with skill. There is so much going on with some big shocks yet the direction of the book never loses focus as it races towards the conclusion.
In Prey, Faythe has to confront some uncomfortable emotional responsibilities and choices. There is no trace of the whiny, spoilt college girl Faythe was in Stray, She is an enforcer who continues to grow into maturity even though she still has trouble with her impulsive instincts. She doesn’t always make the right decisions but I am more sympathetic to her struggles.
I’m really glad that I have Shift and Alpha ready to read because I would hate to have to wait months for the next installment.

@ Goodreads

3 thoughts on “Review: Prey by Rachel Vincent

I want to know what you think! Your comments are appreciated.