Book Lust

 

It is a sad truth that I have a finite lifespan (and budget) yet a desire to read all the books. The books on my Reading Schedule largely represent those I’ve been privileged to select from offerings by a range of generous publishers, and therefore are my priority, but they don’t embody my every bookish desire or interest.

I’ve noticed a trend for limiting to-be-read (TBR) and/or want-to-read (WTR) lists (the distinction for me being those already on my physical or digital shelves vs those that aren’t), but I’ve never felt the need to temper my book lust. If I see a book that interests me, I add it to my WTR without a skerrick of guilt, at the moment my WTR shelf at Goodreads has around three and a half thousand books on it.

As I currently feature my TBR in my monthly Bookshelf Bounty post, Book Lust will be a monthly post featuring a handful of published books I’ve recently added to my WTR.

What books are you lusting after? Do you have any of these on your TBR/WTR list? And please feel free to share your links in the comments if you have reviewed them.

(Covers are linked to Goodreads)

xxxxxxx

 

From the beloved Pulitzer Prize-winning and best-selling author of A Thousand Acres: a mystery set in 1850s Gold Rush California, as two young prostitutes—best friends Eliza and Jean—follow a trail of missing girls.

Monterey, 1851. Ever since her husband was killed in a bar fight, Eliza Ripple has been working in a brothel. It seems like a better life, at least at first. The madam, Mrs. Parks, is kind, the men are (relatively) well behaved, and Eliza has attained what few women have: financial security. But when the dead bodies of young women start appearing outside of town, a darkness descends that she can’t resist confronting. Side by side with her friend Jean, and inspired by her reading, especially by Edgar Allan Poe’s detective Dupin, Eliza pieces together an array of clues to try to catch the killer, all the while juggling clients who begin to seem more and more suspicious.

Eliza and Jean are determined not just to survive, but to find their way in a lawless town on the fringes of the Wild West—a bewitching combination of beauty and danger—as what will become the Civil War looms on the horizon. As Mrs. Parks says, “Everyone knows that this is a dangerous business, but between you and me, being a woman is a dangerous business, and don’t let anyone tell you otherwise …

xxxxxxx

 

A darkly funny and provocative debut novel that reimagines classic fairy tale characters as modern women in a PTSD support group

In present-day New York City, Ruby (Little Red Riding Hood), Gretel, Bernice (Bluebeard’s widow), Marlena (the miller’s daughter from Rumplestiltskin), and Ashlee (the winner of a Love Island-esque dating show, a new kind of fairy tale heroine) all meet in a basement support group to process their traumas.

Though they start out wary of one another, judging each other’s stories, gradually these women begin to realize that they may have more in common than they supposed…What brought them here? What will they reveal? And is it too late for them to rescue each other?  

Dark, edgy, and wickedly funny, this debut for readers of Carmen Maria Machado, Kristen Arnett, and Kelly Link takes our coziest, most beloved childhood stories, exposes them as anti-feminist nightmares, and transforms them into a new kind of myth for grown-up women.

xxxxxxx

 

The fifth novel in the bestselling and award winning Graceling Realm series focuses on Hava, Queen Bitterblue’s spy, and her harrowing journey back to Monsea after the events of 2021’s Winterkeep.

In the immediate aftermath of the events of Winterkeep, Bitterblue and her entourage begin the journey back to Monsea with the only copies of the formulas for the zilphium weapon. Bitterblue must decide what she will do with her world-shaping power. But before they’ve even made it halfway home, storms drive their ship off course and then wrecking them in the ice far north of the Royal Continent. The survivors must make a harrowing trek across the ice in order to make it back to Monsea.

Seasparrow is told entirely from the point of view of Hava, Bitterblue’s personal spy and secret half-sister. And while Bitterblue grapples with how to carry the responsibility of a weapon of mass destruction, Hava must decide what she will do with herself in the new world Bitterblue will make.

xxxxxxx

 

The first in a new historical rom-com series, a handsome earl hires a fake fiancée to keep his matchmaking mother at bay, but hilarity ensues when love threatens to complicate everything.

The last thing Hugh Standish, Earl of Fareham, ever wants is a wife. Unfortunately for him, his mother is determined to find him one, even from across the other side of the ocean. So, Hugh invents a fake fiancée to keep his mother’s matchmaking ways at bay. But when Hugh learns his interfering mother is on a ship bound for England, he realizes his complicated, convoluted but convenient ruse is about to implode. Until he collides with a beautiful woman, who might just be the miracle he needs.

Minerva Merriwell has had to struggle to support herself and her two younger sisters ever since their feckless father abandoned them. Work as a woodcut engraver is few and far between, and the Merriwell sisters are nearly penniless. So, when Hugh asks Minerva to pose as his fiancée while his mother is visiting, she knows that while the scheme sounds ludicrous, the offer is too good to pass up.

Once Minerva and her sisters arrive at Hugh’s estate, of course, nothing goes according to his meticulous plan. As hilarity and miscommunication ensue, while everyone tries to keep their tangled stories straight, Hugh and Minerva’s fake engagement starts to turn into a real romance. But can they trust each other, when their relationship started with a lie?

xxxxxxx

 

Becky: a single mum who prides herself on her independence. She knows from painful experience that men are trouble.

Louise: a loving husband, gorgeous kids. She ought to feel more grateful.

Jameela: all she’s ever done is work hard and try her best. Why won’t life give her the one thing she really wants?

Sheila: the nest is empty, there’s a lonely little feeling in her tummy and her husband seems so distracted.

The inhabitants of the Inventor’s Housing Estate keep themselves to themselves. There are the friendly ‘Hellos’ when commutes coincide and the odd cheeky eye roll when the wine bottles clank in number seven’s wheelie bin, but it’s not exactly Ramsay Street.

The dilapidated community centre is no longer the beating heart of the estate that Becky remembers from her childhood. So the new pottery class she’s helped set up feels like a fresh start. And not just for her.

The assorted neighbours come together to try out a new skill, under the watchful eye of their charismatic teacher, Sasha. And as the soft unremarkable lumps of clay are hesitantly, lovingly moulded into delicate vases and majestic pots, so, too, are the lives of four women.

Concealed passions and heartaches are uncovered, relationships shattered and formed and the possibility for transformation is revealed.

xxxxxxx

Book Lust is a monthly post featuring a handful of published books I’ve recently added to my WTR. #read #books #TBR #WTR #lovereading #bibliophile #fiction #Nonfiction #BookstagramAustralia #Bookstagram #BookLust

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. WendyW
    Dec 10, 2022 @ 15:38:10

    I like the look of Never Fall For Your Fake Fiance! I hope you enjoy all of these books!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. sandysbookaday
    Dec 10, 2022 @ 15:50:07

    Great list, Shelleyrae. Have you read Jane Smiley before? This sounds really interesting. ❤📚

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  3. Janette
    Dec 10, 2022 @ 21:05:58

    I really enjoyed Thrown and the group of women who came together in the pottery class. Never Fall for your Fake Fiancé sounds fun too

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  4. Tina
    Dec 11, 2022 @ 02:19:09

    I’ve read Jane Smiley before and enjoyed the books. How to be Eaten sounds funny. I have quite a list for next year and hope to get more reading time in.

    Like

    Reply

  5. Mystica
    Dec 11, 2022 @ 04:39:09

    All new to me and the Virginia Heath book series very appealing. Thanks for the update

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  6. Davida Chazan
    Dec 11, 2022 @ 22:43:29

    I recently reviewed the Jane Smiley here http://tcl-bookreviews.com/2022/12/05/gently-rambling-mystery/

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  7. Helen Murdoch
    Dec 12, 2022 @ 10:42:52

    I also distinguish between my TBR Shelf (those I have) and my TBR list (those I want). I haven’t read a Jane Smiley in many, many years, but LOVED 1,000 Acres.

    Like

    Reply

  8. Trackback: It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? #SundayPost #SundaySalon | book'd out
  9. Jenna @ Falling Letters
    Jan 04, 2023 @ 12:30:41

    I used to think I didn’t care how many books were on my TBR but now that it’s over a thousand, I realized I do, haha. I’m currently whittling it down to get under 1K. HOW TO BE EATEN sounds like a fun read.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

I want to know what you think! Your comments are appreciated.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s