It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

 

The It’s Monday! What Are You Reading meme is hosted at BookDate

I’m also linking to The Sunday Post @ Caffeinated Reviewer

And the Sunday Salon @ ReaderBuzz

Life…

 

——————————————-

What I’ve Read Since I last Posted…

The One by Kaneana May

Conviction by Denise Mina

Boxed by Richard Anderson

Hurricane Lover by Joni Rodgers

Under the Cold Bright Lights by Garry Disher

———————————————

New Posts

Review: Devil’s Lair by Sarah Barrie

Review: Those People by Louise Candlish

Review: Big Sky {Jackson Brodie #5} by Kate Atkinson

Review: The Hurricane Lover by Joni Rodgers

Stuff on Sunday: Bookshelf Bounty

———————————————

What I’m Reading This Week

She becomes aware of the silence at the other end of the line. A prickling sensation crawls up her arms, her heart rate speeds up. ‘Found who?’ she asks, slowly, carefully, deliberately.

‘They found Daniel.’

Six years ago

Megan waits at the school gates for her six-year-old son, Daniel. As children come and go, the playground emptying, panic bubbles inside her. Daniel is nowhere to be found.

According to his teacher, Daniel’s father, Greg, has picked up his son. Except Greg and Megan are no longer together. After years of being controlled by her cruel husband, Megan has finally found the courage to divorce him. Hands trembling, she dials his number, but the line is dead.

Six years later

Megan is feeding baby daughter, Evie, when she gets the call she has dreamt about for years. Daniel has walked into a police station in a remote town just a few miles away. Her son is alive – and he’s coming home.

But their joyful family reunion does not go to plan. His room may have been frozen in time, with his Cookie Monster poster and stack of Lego under the bed, but Daniel is no longer the sweet little boy Megan remembers.

Cold and distant, Daniel is grieving the death of his father, blaming Megan for his loss and rejecting his family. And as Megan struggles to connect with the son she no longer recognises as her own, she begins to realise that Daniel has a secret. A secret that could destroy their family and put them in terrible danger.

++++++

 

Amelia Westlake meets My Favorite Murder in this debut from a terrific new voice in Australian YA. Combines a realistic story about high school drama and toxic friendship with true crime – the endlessly fascinating Somerton Man or Taman Shud mystery.

15-year-old Lara Laylor feels like supporting character in her own life. She’s Ashley’s best friend, she’s Hannah’s sister-she’s never just Lara.

When new history teacher Mr. Grant gives her an unusual assignment: investigating the mystery of the Somerton Man. Found dead in on an Adelaide beach in 1948, a half-smoked cigarette still in his mouth and the labels cut out of his clothes, the Somerton Man has intrigued people for years. Was he a spy? A criminal? Year 10 has plenty of mysteries of its own: boys, drama queen friends, and enigmatic new students. When they seem just as unsolvable as a 60-year-old cold case, Lara finds herself spending more and more time on the assignment. But Mr Grant himself may be the biggest mystery of all…

Interspersed with fictionalised snapshots of the Somerton Man investigation, ALL THAT IMPOSSIBLE SPACE is a coming of age novel exploring toxic friendships and the balance of power between teacher and student, perfect for fans of Cath Crowley and Fiona Wood.

++++++

Words are messy. Love is messier.

Meet Beatrix Babbage – 29-year-old dog-earer of books and accidental destroyer of weddings.

After ruining her best friend’s nuptials, Bea relocates to the other side of the country in search of a fresh start, including meeting new people, living life to the fullest and finally pulling off balayage.

But after a few months, life is more stagnant than ever. Bea’s job is dead-end. Her romantic life? Non-existent. And her only friends are her books, her barista and her cleaning lady.

Then Bea stumbles across a second-hand novel, inscribed with notes. Besotted with the poetic inscriptions, Bea is determined to find the author … and finds herself entangled in one hell of a love quadrangle.

Funny, poignant and insightful, While You Were Reading reveals that there’s no such thing as perfection, the value of true friendship and, most importantly, the power of not living in fiction, but still reading it … Often.

A love story for book lovers that celebrates much more than romance.

++++++

 

A stunning story about the Women Airforce Service Pilots, whose courage during World War II turned ordinary women into extraordinary heroes

1941. Audrey Coltrane has always wanted to fly. It’s why she implored her father to teach her at the little airfield back home in Texas. It’s why she signed up to train military pilots in Hawaii when the war in Europe began. And it’s why she insists she is not interested in any dream-derailing romantic involvements, even with the disarming Lieutenant James Hart, who fast becomes a friend as treasured as the women she flies with. Then one fateful day, she gets caught in the air over Pearl Harbor just as the bombs begin to fall, and suddenly, nowhere feels safe.

To make everything she’s lost count for something, Audrey joins the Women Airforce Service Pilots program. The bonds she forms with her fellow pilots reignite a spark of hope in the face war, and–especially when James goes missing in action–give Audrey the strength to cross the front lines and fight for everything she holds dear.

Shining a light on a little-known piece of history, The Flight Girls is a sweeping portrayal of women’s fearlessness in the face of adversity, and the power of friendship to make us soar.

———————————————

Thanks for stopping by!

27 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Laurel-Rain Snow
    Jun 17, 2019 @ 01:55:35

    The Boy in the Photo sounds like a must-read book. I can imagine being glued to the pages.

    Enjoy your week!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. Lindsi
    Jun 17, 2019 @ 02:33:41

    I just added While You Were Reading to my TBR! It sounds really interesting. I’m curious how her finding a book leads to a love quadrangle… haha!

    Lindsi @ Do You Dog-ear? 💬

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  3. lakesidemusing
    Jun 17, 2019 @ 02:34:58

    While You Were Reading and The Flight Girls both sound appealing… I’ll look forward to hearing about them. Have a good week!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  4. Deb Nance at Readerbuzz
    Jun 17, 2019 @ 02:46:36

    The Boy in the Photo sounds like it will be a great read. I’m also interested in While You Were Reading. Thanks for sharing both of these with us.

    My feelings about mornings, Mondays, and working have changed completely in the past year. Retirement will do that for you!

    Have a great week!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  5. Kathryn
    Jun 17, 2019 @ 05:07:33

    All the books you are reading this week sound really interesting. I am betting that Daniel murdered his Dad – well he sounds very murderable!! And While You Were Reading – well it has the word reading in the title! The Flight Girls must be joining quite a few books with that kind of theme this year.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  6. Vicki
    Jun 17, 2019 @ 06:51:31

    Almost all of the books you mentioned are new to me so I’ll be checking them out. Have a great week!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  7. Genesis @ Whispering Chapters
    Jun 17, 2019 @ 10:06:28

    While You Were Reading sounds so good! I’ll have to check it out. I hope you enjoy!
    Genesis @ Whispering Chapters

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  8. Nise' (Under the Boardwalk)
    Jun 17, 2019 @ 10:27:21

    I am liking the sound of all your upcoming reads.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  9. Greg
    Jun 17, 2019 @ 13:26:28

    Wow, the Boy in the Photo sounds like an intense and possibly heartbreaking kind of read. I’m curious about that one now!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  10. Sarah Sammis
    Jun 17, 2019 @ 13:31:22

    Interesting set of books. My weekly updates

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  11. Mystica
    Jun 17, 2019 @ 15:26:24

    What a fabulous mix of reads.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  12. Beth F
    Jun 17, 2019 @ 20:30:57

    I have While You Were Reading on my list too … I agree with others that Boy in the Photo sounds intense/emotional but good.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  13. Yvonne
    Jun 17, 2019 @ 21:42:20

    Looks like you have some good reading ahead for you this week. Enjoy and have a great week!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  14. BermudaOnion
    Jun 17, 2019 @ 21:44:45

    I don’t know how you keep up with so many books at one time. The Boy in the Photo catches my eye.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  15. Susie | Novel Visits
    Jun 17, 2019 @ 22:57:06

    I haven’t read any of the Jackson Brodie books, but like Kate Atkinson’s stand alone books very much. I don’t typically like detective stories, but maybe I should give them a try. Hope you have a great week!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  16. Kimberly @ Caffeinated Reviewer
    Jun 18, 2019 @ 01:29:39

    Honestly, all of these titles are tempting me this week!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  17. vvb
    Jun 18, 2019 @ 01:31:47

    Whoa, you got some good ones in this batch. Enjoy!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  18. Rachel @Waves of Fiction
    Jun 18, 2019 @ 01:56:51

    I can totally relate to your random! Happy reading! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  19. Beware Of The Reader
    Jun 18, 2019 @ 05:50:55

    Oooh I love the sound of The Flight Girls!! happy reading 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  20. 15andmeowing
    Jun 18, 2019 @ 11:59:08

    While You Were Reading sounds good. Have a great week!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  21. thebookishlibra
    Jun 18, 2019 @ 13:32:17

    I hope you enjoy all of your reads. The Flight Girls is one I’ve been wanting to read too.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  22. Erin @ Cracker Crumb Life
    Jun 18, 2019 @ 22:54:56

    Oo While You Were Reading sounds really good! And so does All that Impossible Space..I love My Favorite Murder. LOL. I listen to it at work when I am there alone and get all freaked out.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  23. Mia is mine
    Jun 18, 2019 @ 23:45:41

    I added several of your books to my “Want to Read” list at Goodreads! Your books are varied and seem very interesting!

    Like

    Reply

  24. Nicole @ Feed Your Fiction Addiction
    Jun 20, 2019 @ 23:03:42

    You read a lot of books in a week!! While You Were Reading sounds really interesting—I’m sure we’re all salivating just over that title. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  25. Anne - Books of My Heart
    Jun 21, 2019 @ 02:11:57

    You have some fantastic looking books! I hope your week is going well.

    Anne – Books of My Heart Here is my Sunday Post   

    Like

    Reply

I want to know what you think! Your comments are appreciated.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s