Review: Most Wanted by Lisa Scottoline

Title: Most Wanted

Author: Lisa Scottoline

Published: April 12th 2016 St Martins Press.

Status: Read April 2019 – courtesy St Martins/Netgalley

++++++

 

My Thoughts:

Scottoline is known for stories that explore emotive issues which affect families within the context of a thriller, ensuring a loyal readership. I selected this book on the strength of its description, it offers a compelling hook, and definitely has genre appeal.

Most Wanted begins strongly as Christine and Marcus struggle with the idea that the biological father of their unborn child may be a serial killer, but unfortunately it soon devolves into a farce.

Unlike some other readers I actually thought that Marcus’s behaviour throughout was believable, but I could find nothing that supported Christine’s actions. I empathised with her initial fears, but really could not rationalise her subsequent conduct. Christine’s insistence on her intuitive ‘connection’ with Zachary, the donor, was laughable, and while elementary teachers are generally resourceful, I thought the way in which she inserted herself into the investigation was implausible.

On a slightly more positive note, Most Wanted was a quick, well paced read, though largely because it lacked any real substance.

I felt Most Wanted began with an intriguing idea, unfortunately I just thought it was poorly executed.

++++++

Available to Purchase via

Macmillan I Indiebound I Amazon US I Book Depository

Booko

5 thoughts on “Review: Most Wanted by Lisa Scottoline

I want to know what you think! Your comments are appreciated.