Review: A Window Opens by Elisabeth Egan

Title: A Window Opens

Author: Elisabeth Egan

Published: Simon & Schuster AU January 2016

Read an Excerpt

Status: Read from January 03 to 07, 2016 — I own a copy   {Courtesy the publisher/netgalley}

My Thoughts:

A Window Opens by Elisabeth Egan explores the myth that women can ‘have it all’.

Alice Pearse has a part time job she loves, reviewing books for a magazine, which allows her to spend plenty of time with her three children but when her husband announces he has quit his job Alice is forced to find full time work. An exciting opportunity with a start up company seems to present the ideal solution but as the demands of her new job begin to overwhelm her family life, Alice is left off-balance.

Suddenly finding herself with a lot on her plate… a mercurial boss, tension in her marriage, and her father’s harrowing ill-health, Alice struggles to cope with the stress. There were lots of things I could broadly relate to in regards to Alice’s new challenges, however it’s an upper middle class, and rather clichéd, perspective of the struggle to find a work/life balance.

The most affecting scenes in the novel involved Alice’s father decline due to a recurrence of cancer. I enjoyed Egan’s send up of ‘Scroll’, (though I have to admit I admired the original concept), I can’t abide the idea of submitting to all that corporate craziness. Book lovers will enjoy the literary references sprinkled among the pages.

A Window Opens was a quick and easy read, well written, but not one I found particularly original or memorable in terms of plot or character.

Available via

Simon & Schuster AU Iboomerang-books_long I Booktopia I Amazon AUvia Booko

Amazon US I Book Depository

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Kay
    Jan 11, 2016 @ 08:42:32

    I’ve had this one on my Kindle for a bit, but just haven’t been inclined to start it yet. I will at some point. And I’ll probably like it. Thanks for the the little video. It was fun.

    Like

    Reply

I want to know what you think! Your comments are appreciated.

