A thought about: Carry On by Rainbow Rowell

 

Title: Carry On

Author: Rainbow Rowell

Published: Pan Macmillan October 2015

Status: Read from October 08 to 10, 2015 — I own a copy

Simon Snow just wants to relax and savor his last year at the Watford School of Magicks, but no one will let him. His girlfriend broke up with him, his best friend is a pest, and his mentor keeps trying to hide him away in the mountains where maybe he’ll be safe. Simon can’t even enjoy the fact that his roommate and longtime nemesis is missing, because he can’t stop worrying about the evil git. Plus there are ghosts. And vampires. And actual evil things trying to shut Simon down. When you’re the most powerful magician the world has ever known, you never get to relax and savor anything. Carry On is a ghost story, a love story, a mystery and a melodrama. It has just as much kissing and talking as you’d expect from a Rainbow Rowell story — but far, far more monsters.

My Thoughts:

In Rainbow Rowell’s novel Fangirl, the central protagonist, Cath, wrote fan fiction about a fictional novel with strong similarities to JK Rowling’s Harry Potter series . I have to admit I wasn’t really keen on the excerpts in the novel, but I was curious to see how Rowell turned the story into a novel. Carry On turned out to be a lot of fun, I enjoyed the characters and their adventures, and Rowell’s own twists to a very familiar story.

 

Carry On is available via

PanMacmillan Iboomerang-books_long I Booktopia I Amazon AUvia Booko

Amazon US I Amazon UK I BookDepository

 

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ellie Warren (@patchworkbunny)
    Nov 09, 2015 @ 03:14:10

    I wasn’t fussed about the fan fiction in Fangirl either so it’s interesting to hear you still enjoyed Carry On. I might wait till it’s out in paperback and give it a chance.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. laurelrainsnow
    Nov 09, 2015 @ 03:30:45

    Okay, good to know. I enjoyed Fangirl, but was hesitating about Carry On, as I was kind of bored with the Simon Snow parts of Fangirl. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

    Reply

I want to know what you think! Your comments are appreciated.

