Review: My Very Best Friend by Cathy Lamb

 

Title: My Very Best Friend

Author: Cathy Lamb

Published: Kensington Books July 2015

Read an extract

Status: Read from August 01 to 02, 2015 — I own a copy  {Courtesy the publisher/netgalley}

My Thoughts:

From Cathy Lamb, comes another poignant, funny and winsome novel, titled My Very Best Friend.

After a twenty year absence, reclusive bestselling romance writer, Charlotte Mackintosh is returning home to Scotland to arrange the sale of her family’s cottage. She is also hoping to reconnect with her childhood best friend, Bridget, who has stopped replying to her letters. She is shocked to discover the cottage in a state of bad disrepair, and to learn that Bridget, who has been living a lie, is missing.

My Very Best Friend is a story about friendship, about love, about childhood and coming home. It features a decidedly odd but endearing heroine, a handsome Scotsman, a broken woman and a community of quirky characters.

It deals with serious issues including sexual abuse, domestic violence, drug addiction, grief, and the beginning of the AIDS epidemic. There are some unbearably tragic moments in the novel that had tears welling in my eyes, others that had me gritting teeth at the injustice.

But what Lamb does best is to remind us that life, for all its sorrows, can be utterly glorious. Charlotte and Toran’s reconnection will have you sighing and swooning, the ladies of the St Ambrose Garden Club (aka The Gabbing and Gobbling Gardeners) will have you screaming with laughter as they lead rowdy drunken sing-along’s in the town square and ride bikes in their lingerie at midnight, and a surprise reunion will have you smiling so hard your cheeks will hurt.

It has a few flaws, including a somewhat slow moving, muddled start and a little repetition, but I’m willing to forgive all because Lamb redeems herself with such fantastic characters and heartfelt commitment to the story.

Witty, wise and wonderful, My Very Best Friend is another winner for me.

Available to Purchase From

Kensington Books I AmazonUS I BookDepository I Indiebound

via Booko

 

 

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kathryn
    Aug 06, 2015 @ 17:10:30

    Totally agree about the few flaws and how I fell in love with the characters and story. You got me interested in her books and I am happy ever since. Was good to see her getting a post at Read a Romance month blog.

    Like

    Reply

  2. laurelrainsnow
    Aug 07, 2015 @ 01:25:50

    I have always loved this author’s books, despite the slow-moving parts; looking forward to this one. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

    Reply

I want to know what you think! Your comments are appreciated.

