Review: Thursday’s Children by Nicci French

 

Title: Thursday’s Children

Author: Nicci French

Published: Michael Joseph Penguin March 2014

Read an Extract

Status:  Read from July 09 to 11, 2015 — I own a copy

My Thoughts:

The fourth book by Nicci French (the pseudonym for husband and wife team Nicci Gerard and Sean French) to feature Frieda Klein forces the enigmatic psychotherapist to confront the demons of her own past when an old classmate begs her to help her troubled daughter.

“Don’t think of telling anyone sweetheart. Nobody will believe you.”

When fifteen year old Becky reveals she was raped in her own bed, Frieda is stunned by the similarities to her own experience as a teenager, twenty three years before. Compelled to investigate the link, Frieda returns to her hometown of Braxton where she reconnects with her both her estranged mother, and her high school peer group in search of answers.

Thursday’s Children is another enjoyable psychological thriller offering plenty of drama and intrigue as Frieda tracks down a murderous rapist who has evaded detection for more than two decades.

The setting of Thursday’s Children is also an opportunity for the author to expose the roots of Frieda’s cold and reserved demeanour, often remarked upon by readers. When Frieda returns to Braxton she reluctantly visits her mother, and her interaction with the woman who raised her provides important insight into the psychotherapist’s personality.

“‘There are things I’ve run away from all my life. My father’s death. My rape. Things that happened after. But it seems as though I’ve run in a perfect circle and I’m back with it again. In the thick of it.'”

While Freida grapples with her past, her loyal friends, Josef, Reuben, and Karlsson among them, rally to support her, even though Frieda is as always determinated to go it alone. The only element of the storyline that had me puzzled was Frieda’s seemingly sudden rejection of Sandy, I could guess at the psychology of it but it was rather abrupt and I still can’t quite make sense of it.

Unsurprisingly, in the background of Thursday’s Children, lurks Dean Reeve, the murderous sociopath obsessed with Frieda. He is never far from Freida’s awareness and as the series is at the midway point, a final confrontation between the pair approaches.

I couldn’t recommend Thursday’s Child as a stand alone read but for fans of the Frieda Klein series, it is an unmissable installment. I’m excited to move straight on to book 5, Friday On My Mind.

Available to purchase from

Penguin AU Iboomerang-books_long I Booktopia I Amazon AUvia Booko

 Amazon UK I Amazon US I BookDepository

and all good bookstores.

Also Available

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Patty
    Jul 20, 2015 @ 00:48:59

    I love this series!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. laurelrainsnow
    Jul 20, 2015 @ 02:33:42

    I loved seeing Frieda’s “backstory,” which does explain a lot about her aloofness. I have always enjoyed her, in spite of her demeanor…suspecting there was more to the story. So glad to learn about it.

    I am eagerly awaiting Friday On My Mind, which is enroute to me at this time. Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Review: Friday On My Mind by Nicci French | book'd out
  4. Kay
    Jul 20, 2015 @ 04:21:11

    I loved this book. It was quite the page turner and I was glad to get some new insights into what makes Frieda tick. I just received my copy of the next one – the Friday book. Can’t wait to read it. Oh, you say the series is at the midway point. Did the authors say that it will have a certain number of books – like 7 or 8?

    Like

    Reply

I want to know what you think! Your comments are appreciated.

