Review: Little Black Lies by Sharon Bolton

 

Title: Little Black Lies

Author: Sharon Bolton

Published: Transworld UK July 2015

Read an Extract

Status: Read from July 07 to 09, 2015 — I own a copy   {Courtesy the publisher/netgalley}

My Thoughts:

Little Black Lies is a taut, twisty thriller from Sharon Bolton. It begins when a child goes missing, the third in three years from the sparsely populated Falkland Islands.

The narrative is divided into thirds, unfolding from the perspectives of three unique and complex characters. For Catrin the disappearance is an inconvenience. She has a schedule to keep, plans for the woman she blames for the tragic death of her young sons as an anniversary approaches. Callum, an ex-soldier with PTSD, has a theory about the abducted children that the local police are choosing to ignore. Rachel, who spends most of her days in bed, is largely oblivious until her youngest son goes missing.

The well crafted plot, which I don’t wish to elaborate on, reveals the links between these characters, whose lives have been tainted by grief and tragedy, and their connection to the missing children over a period of five days. Though the pace is measured, the story is propelled by cinching tension and breath taking twists.

The setting is atmospheric, the isolated island itself has great presence in the novel from its rugged coastline to its rocky terrain, and its history, as the site of the bloody if short lived war for sovereignty between Britain and Argentina in the early 1980’s, also plays into the story.

Fans of poetry should enjoy the references throughout the novel to ‘The Rime of the Ancient Mariner’ by Samuel Taylor Coleridge, and Bolton skilfully utilises the imagery the verses evoke.

Since then, at an uncertain hour,
That agony returns:
And till my ghastly tale is told,
This heart within me burns.

Little Black Lies is a tense, dark and disturbing story about revenge and redemption, that leads to a stunning conclusion. I could hardly put it down.

Available to purchase from

Transworld UK  I Amazon UKBook Depository

 Amazon AU I Amazon US I via Booko

Seasoned Traveller 2015

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Silver's Reviews
    Jul 14, 2015 @ 05:51:52

    Great review!!

    I really enjoyed this book too.

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts. I reviewed it sometime this past March.

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My Blog

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. Jen @ My So-Called Book Reviews
    Jul 14, 2015 @ 07:12:26

    Great review! I read this one last month and loved all the twists and turns at the end, it was fabulous🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  3. Kay
    Jul 14, 2015 @ 10:11:43

    I am hearing such wonderful things about this book. Several have said that it’s the best that Sharon Bolton has written and I’m so excited to read it soon. I have loved her Lacey Flint books.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  4. Deborah
    Jul 18, 2015 @ 21:02:20

    And What about the very end!!!!! Wow!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

I want to know what you think! Your comments are appreciated.

