Review: What She Left by T.R. Richmond

 

Title: What She Left

Author: T.R. Richmond

Published: Michael Joseph: Penguin May 2015

Read an Extract

Status: Read from May 01 to 03, 2015 — I own a copy  {Courtesy the publisher}

Who is Alice Salmon? Student. Journalist. Daughter. Lover of late nights, hater of deadlines. That girl who drowned last year. Gone doesn’t mean forgotten. Everyone’s life leaves a trace behind. But it’s never the whole story.

A Brief Thought:

I think the premise of What She Left is good and I was excited by the idea of the epistolary format, yet somehow the story didn’t quite live up to it’s potential for me. There seemed to be more focus on Professor Cooke, Alice’s former tutor,  than on Alice and her life. I also struggled with the scattered timeline and fairly slow pace.

What She Left is available to purchase from

Penguin Iboomerang-books_long I Booktopia I via Booko

Amazon AU  I Amazon US

and all good bookstores.

eclecticreader15

Epistolary Fiction

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kay
    May 18, 2015 @ 04:19:11

    I’ve got this one here to read soon. Bought it in hardcover because of the epistolary nature of the book. Will see what I think. And I’ll keep in mind what you shared.

    Like

    Reply

  2. Deborah
    May 18, 2015 @ 14:14:22

    Agree. I only reviewed this on Goodreads from memory!

    Like

    Reply

I want to know what you think! Your comments are appreciated.

