Review: Inside the O’Briens by Lisa Genova

 

Title: Inside the O’Briens

Author: Lisa Genova

Published: Simon & Schuster April 2015

Read an Excerpt

Status: Read on April 11, 2015   {I own a copy – Courtesy Simon & Schuster}

My Thoughts:

A moving story exposing a family’s struggle when patriarch Joe O’Brien, a police officer in his mid forties, is diagnosed with Huntington’s Disease, an incurable and untreatable condition , and his four children must decide if they will be tested and face their fate.

Emotive, thought provoking and affecting, Lisa Genova has written a novel that raises awareness about Huntington’s but also celebrates family, love and life.

Inside the O’Briens is available to purchase from

Simon  & Schuster Iboomerang-books_long I Booktopia I Amazon AU I via Booko

 Gallery Books  I Amazon US I Book Depository

and all good bookstores.

Also by Lisa Genova on Book’d Out

 

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lloyd Russell
    Apr 23, 2015 @ 23:10:11

    Still Alice is my Los Gatos Library Evening Book Club selection for May. I will finally read one of her books. I’m looking forward to it. And now there’s this one to consider.

    Like

    Reply

  2. Kay
    Apr 24, 2015 @ 02:32:31

    I read this book and found it really compelling. I hesitate to say that I enjoyed it, but really, I did. I love the video where Lisa Genova says that it is a book about living in the here and now, in the present. Dealing with Alzheimer’s is like that, when a family member has it. You have to learn how to live in the present with them. Still Alice was wonderful as well. I love how Lisa Genova is able to share so much about these tragic diseases, but also puts a face on them. You care about the people as she relates their stories. In my opinion, that is a gift.

    Like

    Reply

  3. kathrynsinbox
    Apr 25, 2015 @ 17:23:37

    I think the author near deserves a medal for being able to take her medical knowledge and explain it in a way that is accessible and easily understood by readers. Through the experiences of the O’Briens we really learn how something like Huntington’s could affect any family.

    Obviously its difficult to say that “this book was enjoyable” because reading about someone and their family suffer never is enjoyable, however, as a reader I developed a real level of respect for the way that it was planned out and found myself invested emotionally, which is (one of many) marks of a well-written book.

    Like

    Reply

  4. Danielle Binks
    Apr 25, 2015 @ 20:57:12

    I just bought this book for my grandmother, hoping she gets it read quickly so she can pass it back along to me!

    Great review🙂

    Like

    Reply

  5. Deborah
    Apr 26, 2015 @ 07:32:12

    I quite enjoyed this one as well Shelleyrae! It’s a very long time since I read Still Alice… which I definitely still prefer.

    Like

    Reply

  6. Julie @ My Book Retreat
    Apr 28, 2015 @ 11:07:11

    I loved Still Alice so absolutely want to read this one!

    Like

    Reply

  7. Trackback: Review: The Things We Keep by Sally Hepworth | book'd out

I want to know what you think! Your comments are appreciated.

