Review: The Liar by Nora Roberts

 

Title: The Liar

Author: Nora Roberts

Published: Piatkus: Little Brown and Co UK April 2015

Read an Excerpt

Status: Read from April 16 to 19, 2015 — I own a copy    {Courtesy of the publisher/Netgalley}

My Thoughts:

The Liar is Nora Roberts latest novel of romantic suspense.

When her husband is declared missing at sea, Shelby Pomeroy Foxworth is stunned to discover that she has been living a lie. Richard was not the successful businessman she believed him to be but instead a thief and a swindler who has left her millions of dollars in debt. With a young daughter to provide for, Shelby seeks the comfort of her family in Tennessee, determined to rebuild a future on her own terms. But escaping Richard’s legacy of lies will not be so simple.

With any other author, I would likely be unforgiving of the weaknesses in the plot of this novel. The storyline is predictable, the facts are unrealistic (for example Richard would not have been declared dead after a few months), and the suspense is weak until the last few pages. The thing is while I’m in the midst of reading I just don’t care, because I find Roberts to be such a convincing storyteller.

Part of that is the way in which Roberts sucks me in is by developing characters I quickly learn to care about. Shelby, newly widowed and rocked by Richard’s betrayal, is immediately sympathetic and her strength in dealing with the aftermath is admirable. Callie, Shelby’s daughter, is delightful and I found the dynamics of Shelby’s close knit southern family particularly appealing. Griffin is an attractive romantic lead – kind, sure and strong.

Despite being over 500 pages in length, The Liar is a quick read and regardless of its flaws, largely satisfying.

Available to Purchase From

Little Brown and Co UK I Amazon UK I BookDepository

Amazon US I IndieBound

Hachette I Via Booko

Also on Book’d Out

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. laurelrainsnow
    Apr 29, 2015 @ 13:43:01

    I have this one and hope to read it soon. Thanks for sharing your thoughts….

    Like

    Reply

  2. jacabur1
    Apr 29, 2015 @ 20:57:10

    You said that even though it is a weak plot and predictable story ” while I’m in the midst of reading I just don’t care, because I find Roberts to be such a convincing storyteller.” and I totally get it, anything this lady writes is just so entertaining you forgive the weaknesses and just enjoy the tale she tells. Shellyrae glad to see you are a fan too! I need to get a copy for myself someday to read.

    Like

    Reply

I want to know what you think! Your comments are appreciated.

