Stuff on Sundays: Eclectic Reader 2015 Recommendations Part 3

eclecticreader15

I’m excited that more than 50 readers have signed up for the Eclectic Reader Challenge so far this year, and several already have already gotten started and shared reviews.  The challenge asks participants to read 12 books over the year, each from a variety of different categories. These are:

  1. Retellings (of fairytale, legends or myth)
  2.  A book set in a country starting with the letter S (eg. Sweden, Singapore, South Africa, Spain, Slovakia)
  3.  PI Crime (fiction featuring a private investigator)
  4.  A novel published before you were born
  5. Contemporary romance
  6. Fiction for foodies (fiction featuring food/food related business)
  7. Microhistory (Non Fiction)
  8. Science Fiction set in space
  9. Sports (Fiction or Non fiction)
  10. Featuring diversity
  11. Epistolary Fiction (fiction written in the format of letters/emails/diary entries)
  12. Middle Grade/YA Adventure

I encourage participants who aren’t sure what to select for each category to look for recommendations from other book bloggers who they read and follow, or browse lists such as Goodreads Listopia , Library Booklists, or whatever source is favoured, however I thought I might offer a few gleaned from my own browsing.

In Eclectic Reader 2015 Recommendations Part 1 I offered selections for the categories of Retellings; A book set in a country starting with the letter S; and PI Crime. In Eclectic Reader 2015 Recommendations Part 2 I covered: A novel published before you were born, Contemporary romance and Fiction for foodies.

I’m going to cover the next three categories today, and continue over the next month or so.

Click the cover for more information about each title.

 Microhistory

Science Fiction set in space

 

Sports (Fiction or Non fiction)

   You can join the challenge at any time up until December 1st 2015. For more details CLICK HERE.

 

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. thebookdate
    Feb 23, 2015 @ 07:50:13

    I love these posts with suggestions. I have already picked out my microhistory – Seabiscuit, and just yesterday bought the audio of The Martian as from all the reviews it has received it sounds great. Will get to listen to it a little later in the year

    Like

    Reply

  2. Laura @ canido52
    Feb 24, 2015 @ 22:25:33

    Gold was one of my favourite books last year. I really like Chris Cleave but this was by far my favourite. Night games is a really confronting read and probably confirmed what a lot of us suspect. I really admire Krien for writing this as I imagine it must have cost her a bit professionally. Happy reading!

    Like

    Reply

  3. Elsi
    Mar 06, 2015 @ 12:39:58

    I recently finished reading Longitude by Dava Sobel. I’m counting it in the microhistory category. I can heartily recommend it to others. It’s not very long, but totally engaging.

    Like

    Reply

  4. Trackback: Stuff on Sundays: Eclectic Reader 2015 Recommendations Part 4 | book'd out

I want to know what you think! Your comments are appreciated.

