It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

The Its Monday! What Are You Reading meme is hosted at Book Journey.

Life…

 We are settling back into routine now, the kids are whining about homework already and are our regular afternoon and weekend activities have resumed. I’m still not quite used to having my office in the lounge room though my husband, knowing how much I missed my lovely big desk, surprised me by making a new one for me at work, so I am no longer feeling hemmed in by that tiny hutch.

deskn

I’m currently binge watching Falling Skies on Amazon Prime, I still have two season to go and only 3 days of the trial left – eek!

  What I Read Last Week

The Exit by Helen Fitzgerald

Runaway Lies by Shannon Curtis

A Small Madness by Dianne Touchell

Avery by Charlotte McConaghy

The Secrets of Midwives by Sally Hepworth

The Fire Sermon by Francesca Haig

 

  New Posts

(click the titles to read my reviews)

Review: The Exit by Helen Fitzgerald ★★★1/2

Review: Runaway Lies by Shannon Curtis ★★★★

Review: A Small Madness by Dianne Touchell ★★★★

Review: Avery by Charlotte McConaghy ★★★

Review: The Secrets of Midwives by Sally Hepworth ★★★★

Stuff On Sundays: Eclectic Reader 2015 Recommendations Part 2

 

 What I Am Reading Today

A delightfully funny and inspiring novel about a very modern pilgrimage, and one woman’s chance to rediscover what she’s lost. ‘I watch the highway go by and ponder my situation. I am on the run from my husband’s divorce lawyer, my mojo is still missing in action and my demon ex-lover is lurking . . . But, all things considered, my pilgrimage is going well . . .’ Arkie used to be a trendspotter, running a successful business advising companies on ‘the next big thing’. Until she lost her marriage and her mojo along with it. Her eccentric new friend Haruko suggests a pilgrimage in Japan. But funds are tight, so instead Arkie’s going on a very Australian trip, to all the ‘Big Things’. With Haruko as her guide, magic is everywhere. A Buddha appears next to the Big Redback, the Big Macadamia rises from the jungle like a lost temple and inside the Big Shell she can hear a tinkling voice, reminding her of the child she never had. As her improbable adventure unfolds, realisation dawns: could it be that, despite her celebrated foresight, Arkie’s been missing what was right before her eyes?

 What I Plan To Read This Week

(click the covers to view at Goodreads)

It was the summer everything changed.… My Sunshine Away unfolds in a Baton Rouge neighborhood best known for cookouts on sweltering summer afternoons, cauldrons of spicy crawfish, and passionate football fandom. But in the summer of 1989, when fifteen-year-old Lindy Simpson—free spirit, track star, and belle of the block—experiences a horrible crime late one evening near her home, it becomes apparent that this idyllic stretch of Southern suburbia has a dark side, too.

Julia’s life is comfortable, if unremarkable, until her sister’s brutal murder opens old wounds. She finds solace in her sister’s best friend, Sophie, but when Sophie reveals the extent of her sister’s online life, Julia becomes convinced that the truth about her death lies deep in the dark, sordid world of online chatrooms and internet sex. What begins as Julia’s search for the truth about her sister quickly turns into an exploration of herself and her own desires. After all, the internet is her playground, and why be just one thing when you can be as many as you like? What could possibly go wrong? After all, it’s only cybersex, isn’t it? No one’s going to get hurt. But then she meets the dark and mysterious Lukas in an online chat room, and things begin to get very dangerous indeed.

This is a world divided by blood – red or silver. The poverty-stricken Reds are commoners, living in the shadow of the Silvers, elite warriors with god-like powers. To Mare Barrow, a 17-year-old Red girl from the Stilts, it looks like nothing will ever change. Then Mare finds herself working at the Silver palace, in the midst of those she hates the most. She quickly discovers that, despite her red blood, she possesses a deadly power of her own. One that threatens to destroy Silver control.

Daisy never asks you to feel sorry for her. Daisy is 27-years-old and has only months to live. And, each day, she’s finding her way through what needs to be done. Her major worry is what her wonderful, charming husband, Jack, will do without her. She knows that he won’t take care of himself so Daisy has to do it for him. As she searches for Jack’s next wife, she begins to realise that her plan to ensure Jack’s happiness is much more complicated than she expected. Life-affirming, authentic, funny and heartbreakingly beautiful, Before I Go is all about love

 

  ***********

Thanks for stopping by!

21 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. laurelrainsnow
    Feb 09, 2015 @ 12:04:27

    I have my eye on My Sunshine Away and Second Life. Enjoy your week!

    Like

    Reply

  2. Tash
    Feb 09, 2015 @ 14:00:37

    Adding Red Queen on my TBR list. Thanks for sharing and have a great reading week ahead!

    Like

    Reply

  3. thebookdate
    Feb 09, 2015 @ 14:12:39

    I really enjoyed The Secrets of Midwives, liked all three women. Nice to get a new desk since you gave up your office space in the interests of education!

    Like

    Reply

  4. Deborah
    Feb 09, 2015 @ 14:23:32

    Oh, what a lovely gesture from your hubby!!!

    I’ve been wondering about Before I Go. Keen to hear what you think!

    Deb

    Like

    Reply

  5. Greg
    Feb 09, 2015 @ 15:01:58

    Good for the big desk, that’s nice. It’s good to have space.🙂

    Like

    Reply

  6. Mystica
    Feb 09, 2015 @ 15:02:47

    Like the sound of the Watson book!

    Like

    Reply

  7. Tea Time with Marce
    Feb 09, 2015 @ 15:20:02

    I want to read Second Life also. I was considering Brotherhood from your recommendations years ago.

    Like

    Reply

  8. Brona
    Feb 09, 2015 @ 20:47:54

    The number of books you read each week is truly astounding and awe-inspiring Shelley!

    Like

    Reply

  9. Teddyree
    Feb 09, 2015 @ 22:11:27

    Aww nice hubby. I’m a big fan of binge-watching lol, I’m almost up to date with Scandal so I might just have to look at Falling Skies. Have a great week and happy reading🙂

    Like

    Reply

  10. Elizabeth
    Feb 09, 2015 @ 23:46:07

    I’m hearing about The Secrets of Midwives all over the place. Guess I’ve got to get it soon. It’s on my TBR at goodreads, but I haven’t jumped on it yet.
    My Sunshine Away sounds good, adding it to my list.

    Like

    Reply

  11. Catherine @ Book Club Librarian
    Feb 10, 2015 @ 02:12:05

    Great line up of books both this week and last. Enjoy! I’m hoping to read My Sunshine Away sometime soon.

    My post: http://www.bookclublibrarian.com/2015/02/weekly-book-recap-97.html

    Like

    Reply

  12. Lisa
    Feb 10, 2015 @ 02:27:02

    I’m very interested in hearing about Second Life! What a nice husband you have — I hope you’re enjoying your new desk!

    Like

    Reply

  13. ondbookshelf
    Feb 10, 2015 @ 03:12:50

    The only one I’ve read is Before I Go, which I liked a lot. I’m looking forward to getting My Sunshine Away and Red Queen.

    Like

    Reply

  14. Silver's Reviews
    Feb 10, 2015 @ 03:23:07

    AWESOME desk…hubby surprises are the best. So sweet of him.

    Another amazing week for you. I wish I could read that fast. 🙂

    Going to check out your review of The Secrets of Midwives.

    Have a wonderful week. Thanks for stopping by my blog earlier.

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My It’s Monday, What Are You Reading

    Like

    Reply

  15. Sarah's Book Shelves
    Feb 10, 2015 @ 04:18:41

    I absolutely loved My Sunshine Away – my favorite book of the year so far. I keep seeing The Secrets of Midwives and Red Queen going around…will check them out!

    Like

    Reply

  16. eternalised
    Feb 10, 2015 @ 05:28:36

    Second Life and Red Queen both sound intriguing. I hope you enjoy your reads this week!

    My It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? post.

    Like

    Reply

  17. cleopatralovesbooks
    Feb 10, 2015 @ 06:02:49

    How lovely that you have a new desk! I have just finished Second Life which I do hope you enjoy. I’ve also recently read The Exit so we have a couple of matches this week🙂

    Like

    Reply

  18. Jen G. (The Introverted Reader)
    Feb 10, 2015 @ 13:40:35

    I don’t remember hearing about Falling Skies but it looks good! I hope you finish it before your trial expires!

    Like

    Reply

  19. Kate W
    Feb 10, 2015 @ 21:01:46

    Can’t wait to get my hands on Second Life – loved Before I Go to Sleep so hoping this one is equally as gripping.

    Like

    Reply

  20. Sheila (Book Journey)
    Feb 11, 2015 @ 03:57:58

    You had an excellent reading week!

    Like

    Reply

  21. MarthaE
    Feb 13, 2015 @ 16:50:36

    Nice of your hubby to increase your space.🙂 I have Fire Sermon coming up next month. You have a great selection going. Happy Reading.

    Like

    Reply

I want to know what you think! Your comments are appreciated.

