Stuff on Sundays: Eclectic Reader 2015 Recommendations Part 2

eclecticreader15

I’m excited that more than 50 readers have signed up for the Eclectic Reader Challenge so far this year, and several already have already gotten started and shared reviews.  The challenge asks participants to read 12 books over the year, each from a variety of different categories. These are:

  1. Retellings (of fairytale, legends or myth)
  2.  A book set in a country starting with the letter S (eg. Sweden, Singapore, South Africa, Spain, Slovakia)
  3.  PI Crime (fiction featuring a private investigator)
  4.  A novel published before you were born
  5. Contemporary romance
  6. Fiction for foodies (fiction featuring food/food related business)
  7. Microhistory (Non Fiction)
  8. Science Fiction set in space
  9. Sports (Fiction or Non fiction)
  10. Featuring diversity
  11. Epistolary Fiction (fiction written in the format of letters/emails/diary entries)
  12. Middle Grade/YA Adventure

I encourage participants who aren’t sure what to select for each category to look for recommendations from other book bloggers who they read and follow, or browse lists such as Goodreads Listopia , Library Booklists, or whatever source is favoured, however I thought I might offer a few gleaned from my own browsing.

In Eclectic Reader 2015 Recommendations Part 2 I offered selections for the categories of Retellings; A book set in a country starting with the letter S; and PI Crime.

I’m going to cover the next three categories today, and continue over the next month or so.

Click the cover for more information about each title.

 A novel published before you were born {books below published between 1920 & 1980}

Contemporary romance

Fiction for foodies (fiction featuring food/food related business)

  You can join the challenge at any time up until December 1st 2015. For more details CLICK HERE.

 

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. readingwritingandriesling
    Feb 08, 2015 @ 23:42:11

    As I have read a few more books this year I could easily change some of those I have nominated to be more resonate with the criteria. Hindsight is a good thing.

    Like

    Reply

  2. katenich
    Feb 08, 2015 @ 23:56:07

    I think I will hit most of these categories in my reading challenge this year. It is keeping me out of mischief, for sure.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  3. Faraziyya
    Feb 09, 2015 @ 00:38:44

    I’ll grab The Hundred-Foot Journey, I just remembered that it’s already on my TBR piles.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  4. laurelrainsnow
    Feb 09, 2015 @ 05:23:59

    These all look good…I enjoyed my year with this challenge…now I’m trying to catch up with the ones I already have on my shelves!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  5. thebookdate
    Feb 09, 2015 @ 10:03:01

    As contemporary romance is a fav genre I’ve had no problem with that one and highly recommend the first two here on your list. The food one will be probably okay and the one before I was born – the jury is still out on that one!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  6. exlibrisheather
    Feb 10, 2015 @ 02:59:10

    I am running behind on starting my reading challenges this year, but I’m glad to see you are doing this again! I’ll definitely try to tackle this challenge again. I had a good time trying to read books from all the categories last year, and felt like it helped me branch out to some new genres. Also appreciate the recommendations!🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  7. Trackback: Stuff on Sundays: Eclectic Reader 2015 Recommendations Part 3 | book'd out
  8. Trackback: Stuff on Sundays: Eclectic Reader 2015 Recommendations Part 4 | book'd out

I want to know what you think! Your comments are appreciated.

