Stuff on Sundays: Eclectic Reader 2015 Recommendations Part 1

eclecticreader15

I’m excited that more than 50 readers have signed up for the Eclectic Reader Challenge so far this year, and several already have already gotten started and shared reviews.  The challenge asks participants to read 12 books over the year, each from a variety of different categories. These are:

  1. Retellings (of fairytale, legends or myth)
  2.  A book set in a country starting with the letter S (eg. Sweden, Singapore, South Africa, Spain, Slovakia)
  3.  PI Crime (fiction featuring a private investigator)
  4.  A novel published before you were born
  5. Contemporary romance
  6. Fiction for foodies (fiction featuring food/food related business)
  7. Microhistory (Non Fiction)
  8. Science Fiction set in space
  9. Sports (Fiction or Non fiction)
  10. Featuring diversity
  11. Epistolary Fiction (fiction written in the format of letters/emails/diary entries)
  12. Middle Grade/YA Adventure

I encourage participants who aren’t sure what to select for each category to look for recommendations from other book bloggers who they read and follow, or browse lists such as Goodreads Listopia , Library Booklists, or whatever source is favoured, however I thought I might offer a few gleaned from my own browsing.

I’m going to cover the first three categories today, and continue over the next month or so.

Click the cover for more information about each title.

Retellings (of fairytale, legends or myth)


A book set in a country starting with the letter S (eg. Sweden, Singapore, South Africa, Spain, Slovakia)

PI Crime (fiction featuring a private investigator)

 

 You can join the challenge at any time up until December 1st 2015. For more details CLICK HERE.

 

 

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. laurelrainsnow
    Feb 01, 2015 @ 09:25:40

    What a great looking collection of books! Thanks for sharing.

    Like

    Reply

  2. mysm2000
    Feb 01, 2015 @ 09:36:25

    Thanks, Shelley Rae. This is helpful. A lot of these books look really interesting.

    Like

    Reply

  3. thebookdate
    Feb 01, 2015 @ 09:41:48

    Great idea Shellyrae and very helpful.I think I have a PI book picked out but must explore your ideas a little further and firm up my choice. I already had Bitter Greens picked out and I am going for Scotland!!

    Like

    Reply

  4. kathrynsinbox
    Feb 01, 2015 @ 17:38:14

    I too had Bitter Greens picked out as one of my selections. I like some of the other suggestions on this list as well. I may very well be going with Ms Fisher for my PI crime selection.

    Like

    Reply

  5. Marg
    Feb 01, 2015 @ 22:28:59

    Sounds like a fun, flexible challenge.

    Like

    Reply

  6. rudejasper
    Feb 02, 2015 @ 06:50:17

    Great suggestions especially because they cover a variety of tastes or interests! I’ve kind of already picked out a book for each of the categories but may need to re-visit, lol. From the above The Song of Achilles, The Crystal Cave, The Shadow of the Wind and The Dresden Files are favorites! I’ve really been wanting to read the Golem and the Djinni.

    Like

    Reply

  7. Kailana
    Feb 02, 2015 @ 10:49:11

    I may unofficially join and then see how it goes… I am horrible with challenges the last few years.

    Like

    Reply

  8. happyinkparchment
    Feb 02, 2015 @ 23:42:34

    That was a very helpful post !! Thanks !

    Like

    Reply

  9. Trackback: Stuff on Sundays: Eclectic Reader 2015 Recommendations Part 2 | book'd out
  10. Trackback: Stuff on Sundays: Eclectic Reader 2015 Recommendations Part 3 | book'd out
  11. Trackback: Stuff on Sundays: Eclectic Reader 2015 Recommendations Part 4 | book'd out

I want to know what you think! Your comments are appreciated.

