Review: First Frost by Sarah Addison Allen

Title: First Frost { Waverley Family #2}

Author: Sarah Addison Allen

Published: St Martins Press  January 2015

Read an Excerpt

Status: Read from January 19 to 20, 2015 — I own a copy  {Courtesy the publisher/Netgalley}

My Thoughts:

I adored Garden Spells and was delighted to renew my acquaintance with the Waverley family in First Frost.

As the first frost approaches, the Waverly women are growing increasingly restless. Claire, who is running a successful candy business, is starting to doubt herself, Sydney is yearning for a baby as her hair gets redder every day, her daughter, fifteen year old Bay, is struggling with unrequited love, and all the while a silver haired stranger is lurking about town.

The plot is a little predictable yet it doesn’t seem to matter. I enjoyed the hint of mystery, the family drama and the light touch of romance. And of course the story is enhanced by the magical whimsy of the Waverley gifts. Claire’s candy evokes happiness and contentment, Sydney’s haircuts give people luck, and Bay simply knows where things, and people, belong.

Written with warmth and heart, First Frost is an enchanting story of family, forgiveness, acceptance and love. It can be read as a stand alone but I recommend reading Garden Spells first.

Available to Purchase From

Macmillan I Amazon US I BookDepository I Indiebound

in Australia: via Booko

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. laurelrainsnow
    Jan 25, 2015 @ 04:21:46

    I am eager to read this, but first, Garden Spells, which I have on Sparky. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

    Reply

  2. Chrystal
    Jan 25, 2015 @ 11:56:48

    I’m excited to add this to my wishlist. I loved Garden Spells, but I think I’ll have to reread it before I get to this one!

    Like

    Reply

  3. Kailana
    Jan 25, 2015 @ 13:14:38

    I have this pre-ordered… Now to just arrive!

    Like

    Reply

  4. stacybuckeye
    Feb 03, 2015 @ 14:41:28

    Garden Spells is my favorite SAA so I need to get to this one soon!

    Like

    Reply

  5. Trackback: First Frost by Sarah Addison Allen | The Sleepless Reader

I want to know what you think! Your comments are appreciated.

