Review: The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

Title: The Girl on the Train

Author: Paula Hawkins

Published: Transworld Jan 2015

Read and Extract

Status: Read from January 15 to 17, 2015 — I own a copy   {courtesy the publisher/Netgalley}

My Thoughts:

A tense and twisty thriller, The Girl on the Train is garnering plenty of well deserved attention for debut author, Paula Hawkins.

After a slightly bewildering start I was gripped by this chilling, tangled tale of love, hate and betrayal. Revealing much more than the back cover hints at risks spoilers that will ruin the surprises in store for the reader. I think it’s important to unravel the secrets and lies as the author intended and to allow yourself to become caught up in the twists and turns of the plot.

Astute readers may solve the mystery before the final pages but its unraveling is compelling. The conclusion may be a little neat but should also satisfy.

Clever and disturbing in equal measure The Girl on the Train is an engrossing read, don’t be fooled by the brevity of this review – I just don’t want to spoil anything for you!

Available to Purchase From

Transworld I Amazon US I Amazon UK I Amazon Au

BookDepository I in Australia: via Booko

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mysm2000
    Jan 25, 2015 @ 01:38:34

    While this sounds intriguing, I’m not sure if it’s maybe a tad too spooky for me. Will require some thought.

    Like

    Reply

  2. Patty
    Jan 25, 2015 @ 02:36:02

    Thank you!

    Like

    Reply

  3. laurelrainsnow
    Jan 25, 2015 @ 02:51:11

    Now I really can’t wait! I have this one on Sparky, and it is clamoring to be read, sooner rather than later. I’m in! Thanks!

    Like

    Reply

  4. Deborah
    Jan 25, 2015 @ 14:53:37

    I was the same… I didn’t ‘love’ the end, but still…

    Like

    Reply

I want to know what you think! Your comments are appreciated.

