Review: Mobile Library by David Whitehouse

 

Title: Mobile Library

Author: David Whitehouse

Published: Picador: Pan Macmillan  Jan 2015

Status: Read from January 08 to 10, 2015 — I own a copy  {Courtesy the publisher}

My Thoughts:

Mobile Library by David Whitehouse is the big hearted, quirky story of twelve year old, Bobby Nusku, abused by his drunken father and bullied by his schoolmates. His only friend’s attempts to defend him end in disaster and Bobby is alone again, pining for his missing mother, until he meets Rosa, and her mother, Val. Val, the cleaner of a mobile library, shows Bobby how books can help him to escape the miserable confines of his world, and when everything goes wrong, only the mobile library can save them all.

I’ve mentioned before that I dislike prologue’s. Whitehouse starts Mobile Library with ‘The End’ and it wasn’t until at least halfway through the book that I forgave him. Though it took a while, I eventually got caught up in Bobby’s story as the author brought it to life with good humour, warmth and poignancy.

A charming, but offbeat, story, Mobile Library is a novel about friendship, family, love and stories, a tale of adventure and danger, heroes and villains, not-so-happy and happy endings.

 Available to purchase from

Pan Macmillan Iboomerang-books_long I Booktopia I via Booko

Book Depository I Amazon AU  I Amazon US

and all good bookstores.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. shrakkbookattack
    Jan 22, 2015 @ 14:06:11

    Not a huge prologue fan myself, but I think this book sounds really good!

    Like

    Reply

I want to know what you think! Your comments are appreciated.

