Review: It Started with a Kiss by Lisa Heidke

 

Title: It Started with a Kiss

Author: Lisa Heidke

Published: Allen & Unwin January 2015

Status: Read on January 01, 2015 — I own a copy   {Courtesy the publisher}

My Thoughts:

Friday Jones is stunned when her husband of twenty years announces he needs a break and moves out of the family home. Though Friday readily admits their marriage has been strained for a while, exacerbated by the recent deaths of Liam’s parents and the family dog, Friday never imagined Liam would simply walk away. Heartbroken, Friday struggles through each day while caring for their teenage daughters and continuing to work part time as a naturopath. Liam has been gone for four months when Friday’s boss insists she takes a week R&R at a health spa, where Friday meets a charismatic married man and falls into a wildly passionate but sort lived affair. While Liam pursues his dream to become a stand-up comedian, and tries to keep up with his brother’s bachelor lifestyle, Friday’s best friend, Rosie, encourages her to spread her wings, setting her up with a much younger man and signing her up to KissmeCupid.com, while persuading her to help out with Rosie’s latest business venture hosting divorce parties. Friday is just beginning to pull her self together when everything starts to spiral out of control, her ex lovers won’t take no for an answer, the anonymous gifts on her doorstep suggest someone is stalking her, her daughter ends up in hospital, and then Liam wants to come home…

It Started With a Kiss, Lisa Heidke’s fifth novel, unfolds from the first person perspective of Friday and the third person narrative of Liam, exploring the themes of personal happiness, marriage breakdown, domestic drama and modern relationships. The story is told with plenty of humor and wit but doesn’t dismiss the seriousness of heartbreak and loss. I especially liked the realistic ending, which isn’t as neat as you might expect.

Heidke’s characterisation is always strong, Friday is an emotional mess but that is hardly a surprise given the situation, I imagine I would be too if my husband walked out. I thought Friday was a little too self obsessed at times, even a bit flaky, as evidenced by her failure to do anything about growing her business, but I could understand that Blake’s flattery would be irresistible given the recent blows to her self esteem.
Friday and Liam’s daughters are well portrayed, fifteen year old Olivia is a maelstrom of teenage contempt and self absorption, thirteen year old Evie is sweet and desperate for her parents to reunite.
I wasn’t really expecting to be privy to Liam’s side of things and I didn’t really want to sympathise with him but I did, a little, though I never really liked him much. His behaviour is pretty selfish, especially as he expects Friday to wait in limbo while he indulges in his mid life crisis.

I enjoyed It Started with a Kiss, it’s a quick, engaging read about love and relationships told in a way that is both entertaining and thought provoking. I’m still a fan🙂

 

Available to purchase from

Allen & Unwin Iboomerang-books_long I Booktopia I Bookworld I via Booko

Amazon AU  I Amazon US

and all good bookstores.

SNAG-0001

Also reviewed on Book’d Out

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. subversivereader
    Jan 04, 2015 @ 15:31:39

    Oh, that looks interesting. I haven’t read any Lisa Heidke before – I think I’ll need to add her to my to-reads for the year🙂

    Like

    Reply

  2. michelletw
    Jan 04, 2015 @ 21:14:49

    I have just started this one Shelleyrae, great review and now I am really excited to get further

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  3. Deborah
    Jan 04, 2015 @ 23:43:22

    I’ve never read any Lisa Heidke either! (Have entered!)

    Like

    Reply

  4. Susan Whelan
    Jan 05, 2015 @ 11:37:15

    I’ve just finished reading this and enjoyed both the book and your review. It’s good to see Lisa releasing another book. Her books are great kick-back-and-relax holiday reads.

    Like

    Reply

  5. lisa heidke (@lisaheidke)
    Jan 05, 2015 @ 13:02:53

    Hi Shelleyrae, Thank you for the lovely review. Yes, Friday is an emotional mess, but hopefully she improves a bit by the end of the story.I really enjoyed writing this one and I especially loved writing about the teenage daughters. it was fun.

    Like

    Reply

  6. shrakkbookattack
    Jan 08, 2015 @ 02:47:35

    What an awesome review! Not normally my genre, but you’ve piqued my interest!

    Like

    Reply

I want to know what you think! Your comments are appreciated.

