Review: The Rosie Effect by Graeme Simsion

 

Title: The Rosie Effect

Author: Graeme Simsion

Published: Simon & Schuster US December 2014

Status: Read from December 23 to 25, 2014 — I own a copy   {Courtesy the publisher/Netgalley}

My Thoughts:

The sequel to Graeme Simsion’s debut hit, The Rosie Project, The Rosie Effect reunites us with Don and Rosie almost a year later. Now happily married, the couple have moved to New York where Don is continuing his research at Columbia university, and Rosie is finishing her medical studies, when Rosie announces she is pregnant.

Don’s initial reaction to the news is blind panic but he quickly focuses on the practicalities of the situation. He finds them a larger apartment (rent free to boot), reads up on pregnancy and obstetrics, researches prams and cribs, and fills his bathroom/office wall with sketches of ‘Bud’s’ development. What he doesn’t realise is that Rosie assumes Don is not at all excited about having a child and is growing increasingly unhappy.

I feel like Simsion did Rosie a disservice in this novel, she becomes a stereotype of an unreasonable pregnant woman and quite frankly she comes across as a bitch with regards to Don. Her attitude and behaviour was not at all what I expected from the Rosie I got to know in The Rosie Project and I was disappointed by the way she was often absent from the story altogether.

There were some laughs on offer as Don tries to come to terms with everything but on the whole, The Rosie Effect is much darker than the first book. It wasn’t as feel-good or as poignant as I expected and at times the humour felt a little overworked.

Gene, Don’s philandering best friend, reappears in the The Rosie Effect having been thrown out by his wife, Claudia, and lands on Don and Rosie’s doorstep. To be fair, though still a creep, Gene does try to support Don as he struggles with impending fatherhood, though his advice, taken literally, lands Don in quite a bit of trouble. I did like Don’s new friends – Dave and his pregnant wife, Sonia, and Rosie and Don’s landlord, George.

The Rosie Effect doesn’t have quite the wit or charm of its predecessor but it’s not a bad read, I just found it a little disappointing.

 

Available to Purchase From

Simon& Schuster US I Amazon US I BookDepository I IndieBound

in Australia: via Booko

Click the cover to read my review of..

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. thebookdate
    Dec 29, 2014 @ 17:18:02

    Hmm I’ll still listen to the audio of it, but a little disappointed to read what you have to say as so enjoyed Rosie in The Rosie Project.

    Like

    Reply

  2. laurelrainsnow
    Dec 30, 2014 @ 02:15:00

    I was also a bit disappointed with this sequel…and you are dead right about how Rosie comes across. Thanks for sharing your thoughts: great review!

    Like

    Reply

  3. Lisa
    Dec 30, 2014 @ 04:43:46

    I agree completely. I can’t stand when pregnant women in books suddenly become victims of their hormones, and I don’t think this book was true to the Rosie we got to know in the first. Sadly, this felt like an unnecessary sequel to me.

    Like

    Reply

  4. Nise' (Under the Boardwalk)
    Dec 30, 2014 @ 06:21:34

    Yours is the third review I’ve read that did not like this book as much as the first. I just may pass on reading it.

    Like

    Reply

  5. Deborah
    Jan 04, 2015 @ 23:13:16

    That seems to be the consensus with this novel. A friend of my mother’s actually loaned her both novels so I thought I might read them soon….

    Like

    Reply

I want to know what you think! Your comments are appreciated.

