Review: Nanny Confidential by Phillipa Christian

Title: Nanny Confidential

Author: Phillipa Christian

Published: Allen & Unwin December 2014

Status: Read from December 14 to 16, 2014 — I own a copy

My Thoughts:

Nanny Confidential is the story of Lindsay Starwood, an elite nanny caring for the children of some of the world’s most recognisable celebrities.

Lyndsay has cared for the offspring of film stars, presidents, oil barons, musicians and Middle East royalty. Now she is the nanny of six adorable young girls, the daughters of a famous film director, Sir Cameron Appleby, and self obsessed television star, Alysha. Lyndsay’s life appears glamorous, her closets are stuffed with designer fashions, she travels in chauffeur driven cars and private planes, and all while being paid astronomical sums, but both the children she cares for, and the demands of their parents, keep her on her toes.

Nanny Confidential is a novel that reads like a memoir, and I have to admit I had to remind myself that it was fiction more than once. Though Lyndsay relates some outrageous situations and examples of ridiculous excess she has witnessed in her job, it all seems so feasible. If only half of what Christian writes is true (and she herself as worked as a nanny for the rich and famous), it’s no wonder that the children of celebrities so often lead disastrous lives as adults. Lyndsay has far more patience than I would for the absurdities of her job, quite frankly I don’t think anyone could pay me enough to put up with the diva behaviour of celebrities like Alysha.

A quick, light read which includes a touch of romance, Nanny Confidential is suited best I think to readers who enjoy tell-all celebrity features and gossip.

 

Available to purchase from

Allen & Unwin Iboomerang-books_long I Booktopia I Bookworld I via Booko

Amazon AU  I Amazon US

and all good bookstores.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kate W
    Dec 22, 2014 @ 18:24:27

    Was vaguely interested in this (as a beach read) but was under the impression it was non-fiction… not sure why. Think I was thinking along the lines of The Nanny Diaries (which I loved – good fun).

    Like

    Reply

  2. Deborah
    Dec 23, 2014 @ 14:11:55

    Sounds like a great holiday read!

    Like

    Reply

I want to know what you think! Your comments are appreciated.

