It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

The Its Monday! What Are You Reading meme is hosted at Book Journey.

Life…

Things didn’t go to plan last week😦 A migraine meant three ‘lost’ days. I can’t read when I have one, my vision blurs and trying to focus on anything makes me nauseous – thankfully they only happen 3 or 4 times a year now, I used to get 3 or 4 a month through my teens and twenties.

The past weekend has also been manic so I haven’t had the time to catch up and honestly, this week my schedule is even crazier and I don’t expect I will have much time for reading or the blog.

 

 What I Read Last Week

It’s Not Me, It’s You by Mhairi McFarlane

Eden by Candice Fox

Riverboat Point by Tricia Stringer

 

New Posts

(click the titles to read my reviews)

Review: Still Alice by Lisa Genova ★★★★

Review: Eden by Candice Fox ★★★★★

Review: Whisper the Dead by Alyxandra Harvey ★★★

Review: It’s Not Me, It’s You by Mhairi McFarlane ★★★★

About: Captivated by You by Sylvia Day

Weekend Cooking: Once a Month Cooking by Jody Allen

 

What I Am Reading Today

English anthropologist Andrew Bankson has been alone in the field for several years, studying the Kiona river tribe in the Territory of New Guinea. Haunted by the memory of his brothers’ deaths and increasingly frustrated and isolated by his research, Bankson is on the verge of suicide when a chance encounter with colleagues, the controversial Nell Stone and her wry and mercurial Australian husband Fen, pulls him back from the brink. Nell and Fen have just fled the bloodthirsty Mumbanyo and, in spite of Nell’s poor health, are hungry for a new discovery. When Bankson finds them a new tribe to divert them from leaving Papua New Guinea, the artistic, female-dominated Tam, he ignites an intellectual and romantic firestorm between the three of them that burns out of anyone’s control. Set between two World Wars and inspired by events in the life of revolutionary anthropologist Margaret Mead, Euphoria is an enthralling story of passion, possession, exploration, and sacrifice.

 

What I Plan To Read This Week

(click the covers to view at Goodreads)

As Daisy McGovern knows all too well, it isn’t easy being a young, small town waitress at the local diner. And it becomes even harder just as she’s trying to stitch her life back together and salvage her job by converting the diner into a bakery when a mysterious robbery occurs and one of the thieves ends up dead on the bakery floor with a chef’s knife in his chest. Forced into a twisted game of cat-and-mouse that takes her from secretive nip joints overflowing with moonshine to weathered Appalachian mountaintops overflowing with history and guns, Daisy must figure out who the dead man is—and why he was in her bakery—before she becomes the next victim. This is the second entry in a charming series filled with eccentric characters, red herrings, and, of course, moonshine!

 

Blanca Perea is a college professor in Madrid who seems to have it all. But her perfect career and marriage start to unravel when her husband of twenty years suddenly leaves her for another woman. Devastated, Blanca is forced to question the life she once had and how well she truly knows herself. She leaves Madrid for San Francisco, where she becomes entrenched in the history of an enigmatic Spanish writer who died decades earlier. The more Blanca discovers about this man, the more she is enthralled by the ill-fated loves, half truths, and silent ambitions that haunted his life. With lush, imaginative prose and unforgettable characters, The Heart Has Its Reasons is a journey of the soul that takes readers from Spain to California, between the thorny past and all-too-real present. It is a story about the thrill of creating one’s life anew.

 

“The best way to blend in is to stand out.” A twisted tale about Feng Shui, vampires, drinking, pet psychiatry, genocide, belief and mortality… In this darkly comic, slow-burn fantasy thriller, nothing is as it seems. A nightclub opening becomes a fight for life and the discovered fountain of youth hides a movement to exterminate a race.

 ***********

Thanks for stopping by!

26 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sheila (Book Journey)
    Dec 08, 2014 @ 14:49:41

    Sounds like so many of us had a yucky last week… I have been battling some sort of flu, I have seen others mention they have been sick too.

    Like

    Reply

  2. thebookdate
    Dec 08, 2014 @ 15:03:01

    Sorry to hear about the migraine, I don’t get them but have seen others with them and certainly not good. You still achieved a lot though!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  3. Greg
    Dec 08, 2014 @ 16:13:42

    It’s Not Me sound good, and I hope slows down for you this week.

    Like

    Reply

  4. cleopatralovesbooks
    Dec 08, 2014 @ 17:30:35

    Sorry to hear you’ve been poorly. I think we all struggle with our reading at this time of year as everything gets stupidly busy; work, social engagements etc. Here’s to a better week for you!

    Like

    Reply

  5. Deborah
    Dec 08, 2014 @ 17:49:01

    Sorry to hear about your migraine! (And that you’re super-busy!) Hopefully things will peak and calm down soon!

    Deb

    Like

    Reply

  6. Brona
    Dec 08, 2014 @ 21:16:12

    Oodles of empathy coming your way. I also used to get bad migraines. I used to hate having a day off work for them and not being able to spend that day just lying in bed reading (like I could with a nasty flu bug)!!
    Hope this week is better🙂

    Like

    Reply

  7. Jade @ Scatterbooker
    Dec 08, 2014 @ 22:59:59

    Hope you’re feeling much better this week!

    Like

    Reply

  8. Teddyree
    Dec 08, 2014 @ 23:04:17

    Feeling for you with that migraine. Not nice being sick anytime but at this time of the year it’s even more difficult to catch up. Hope the craziness eases soon. Hope this week is better than you expect.

    Like

    Reply

  9. lakesidemusing
    Dec 08, 2014 @ 23:38:26

    Sorry to hear about your migraine – they are the worst, especially when vision is effected! Euphoria seems to be everywhere all of a sudden… I have it on my audio wish list since it has two great narrators.

    Like

    Reply

  10. Catherine @ Book Club Librarian
    Dec 09, 2014 @ 01:34:07

    Love your books…enjoy!

    Like

    Reply

  11. Lisa
    Dec 09, 2014 @ 02:24:25

    Sorry to hear about your migraine! I hope you’re feeling better. I’m eager to hear your thoughts on Euphoria – I’ve been on the fence about whether or not to read it!

    Like

    Reply

  12. laurelrainsnow
    Dec 09, 2014 @ 02:58:26

    Oh, so sorry about the migraines…I used to get them. Haven’t had them in a while, knock wood. Hope yours go away entirely!

    What a fun selection of books! A Nip of Murder caught my interest. Enjoy your week, free of migraines. Thanks for visiting my blog.

    Like

    Reply

  13. Kathy Martin
    Dec 09, 2014 @ 06:27:56

    I hope you are feeling better now and it’s a long time until your next migraine. I had migraines as a pre-schooler but outgrew them when I hit my twenties. I don’t miss them at all. Thanks for visiting my blog. Have a wonderful week.

    Like

    Reply

  14. Patty
    Dec 09, 2014 @ 06:34:53

    Really sorry about the migraines…I think lots of us avid readers are in much need of a slowdown…I need a book break and I rarely say anything like that! I had a really difficult time with that Lily King book…I had nightmares from imagining what her feet looked like! Parts of it totally creeped me out…sigh!

    Like

    Reply

  15. Jo
    Dec 09, 2014 @ 14:59:33

    A Nip of Murder looks interesting, but I’ll have to look for Murder and Moonshine first…

    Happy Reading!

    Like

    Reply

  16. MarthaE
    Dec 09, 2014 @ 15:11:19

    You have a nice selection. So sorry about your migrane. I had a phase when I was having them – a stressful time for me. Relax and enjoy your next few weeks.

    Like

    Reply

  17. faith hope & cherrytea
    Dec 11, 2014 @ 03:38:19

    glad for improvements ! and hoping the migraines don’t reappear any too soon!
    well done on the reading🙂

    Like

    Reply

I want to know what you think! Your comments are appreciated.

