Weekend Cooking: Mug Cakes by Mima Sinclair

wkendcooking

I’ve decided to make the Weekend Cooking meme, hosted by Beth Fish Reads  a regular monthly post at Book’d Out. Cooking is something I enjoy and I have been making more of an effort again lately, so I am looking forward to sharing some of my culinary adventures.

**********************

Title: Mug Cakes

Author: Mima Sinclair

Published: Kyle Books: Simon & Schuster Au November 2014

My Thoughts:

It takes just a handful of ingredients and a few minutes in a microwave to make one of the 40 cakes in Mima Sinclair’s Mug Cakes. These single serve treats are ideal for a quick sugar fix or delicious dessert.

Mug Cakes is presented in a small format hardcover book with full colour photographs accompanying most recipes. The ingredients and method for each recipe are well set out, with additional tips highlighted. Both of my daughters (18 and 10 years old) easily followed the instructions to make their own mug cakes without any supervision.

Sinclair begins Mug Cakes with some useful tips about choosing ingredients, how to check a mug is appropriate for use, and some essential advice on how best to prep, cook and enjoy the recipes. One tip we can pass on is to heed Sinclair’s advice about the size of the eggs. We only had extra large eggs to prepare one of the recipes (Sinclair recommends medium sized eggs only) and there was a distinctly ‘eggy’ taste to it.

The cookbook is divided into four sections: Classics, Occasions, Happy Hour and Treats and Puds. You need little else other than a spoon, mug and microwave and ingredients you likely already have in your pantry or refrigerator. From Carrot Cake to a Chocolate Brownie, Black Forest to Mojito, Rocky Road to Lemon Curd Cheesecake, the recipes are varied and most take less than five minutes to prepare and bake.
Included also are recipes for a Gluten-Free and Egg-Free cake which can be tweaked with flavour and topping to suit.

My daughters enjoyed the Chocolate and Peanut Butter Cake (the recipe can be found HERE), the Triple Chocolate Cake and the Red Velvet Cake. I liked the Apple & Cinnamon Cake with caramel sauce. My best friend tried both the Mocha and Baileys on the Rocks recipes and was delighted with the results.

Offering quick, easy and delicious recipes Mug Cakes is a treat of a book. I know it will be used often in my household and I think it would also make a wonderful gift, accompanied by a mug cake of course!

mugcakes

Vanilla with choc chips & Mocha

Mug Cakes is available to purchase from

Simon & Schuster AU  Iboomerang-books_long I Booktopia I Bookworld I via Booko

 Amazon US

and all good bookstores.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kate W
    Nov 16, 2014 @ 22:06:03

    I have been meaning to participate in this meme – you’ve reminded me🙂 And that cookbook looks like fun (a good present for teens?!)

    Like

    Reply

  2. Beth F
    Nov 16, 2014 @ 22:38:45

    Love the idea of individual cakes. I’ve heard of mug cakes before, of course, but wasn’t sure how they’d work. Glad to know that they work well. I bet it’d be great gift for college kids who have a microwave in their dorm.

    Like

    Reply

  3. Esme (@cococroissants)
    Nov 17, 2014 @ 02:22:07

    This looks like so much fun-I recently had potted ice cream-ice cream in a planter covered with crushed oreos to look like dirt and then a sprig of mint on top.

    Like

    Reply

  4. Nikki-ann
    Nov 17, 2014 @ 05:44:23

    This book sounds wonderful! With my boyfriend very much being a cake lover, I think I may have to get this for myself!😀

    Like

    Reply

  5. Louise
    Nov 17, 2014 @ 10:40:46

    This looks a fun book. I’ve only made one mug cake recipe- a sugar free one back when I was doing sugar free september- it wasn’t bad- but it tasted more of a steamed pudding than a cake- but it was a banana/almond meal version. Still better than I was expecting and nice for a change.

    Like

    Reply

  6. readingwritingandriesling
    Nov 17, 2014 @ 11:57:29

    And when you make a mug cake – there are so few dishes to clean up afterwards – a bonus🙂

    Like

    Reply

  7. Sarah's Book Shelves
    Nov 18, 2014 @ 04:26:08

    Ha – this is genius! I always see contestants on Chopped doing microwave cakes..and I love how these look in the mug! I’m not a baker, but maybe even I could get one of these going…

    Like

    Reply

  8. Marcia Strykowski
    Nov 19, 2014 @ 01:29:03

    Fun idea to make cakes in mugs!

    Like

    Reply

I want to know what you think! Your comments are appreciated.

