Weekend Cooking: Make Ahead Bread by Donna Currie

wkendcooking

I’ve decided to make the Weekend Cooking meme, hosted by Beth Fish Reads  a regular monthly post at Book’d Out. Cooking is something I enjoy and I have been making more of an effort again lately, so I am looking forward to sharing some of my culinary adventures.

**********************

Title: Make Ahead Bread: 100 Recipes for Bake-It-When-You-Want-It Yeast Breads

Author: Donna Currie

Published: Taunton Press November 2014

Status: Read from November, 2014 — I own a copy {Courtesy the publisher/netgalley}

My Thoughts:

There is nothing I love more than freshly baked bread. My one weekly indulgence is buying bread from my local bakery instead of plastic wrapped loaves from the supermarket. Occasionally I will also make my own dough to bake but since I don’t have, and can’t afford, a decent stand mixer it is a laborious process, made more difficult by the time it requires to serve up fresh baked goods exactly when you want them.

Make Ahead Bread by Donna Currie aims to make baking easier by dividing the process into two parts, allowing you to prepare the dough and then refrigerate it until a day or two later when you can bake it. This is a much more convenient method for busy people who don’t have an entire day to devote to baking.

Currie begins with some useful advice about ingredients, equipment and methods to get the best from her 100+ recipes. The first chapter of the book starts with her recipes for loaf breads using wheat, sourdough or rye, both sweet and savoury flavoured such as Fresh Corn and Cheddar Loaf and Peanut Butter Spread with Raspberry Swirl. The next chapter explores Buns, Rolls & Breadsticks, then Flatbreads like focaccia. Her recipes for Pastries include Lemon Danish and Cinnamon Croissants. The final sections offers recipes to use with leftover bread like a Cherry and Goat Cheese Strata and recipes for flavoured spread combinations like Orange and Ginger, Cinnamon Honey and Wine Jam. (NB: You can see a complete recipe listing HERE)

The recipes are well laid out (even in my digital version) with clear instructions and ingredients lists. Not every recipe is accompanied by a photograph of the result, which is a bit of a shame I thought.

I’ve bookmarked quite a few recipes I plan to try like the Strawberry Jam Swirl Loaf, Pre baked Herb and Cheese Buns and Pineapple Sweet Cheese Danish. I will actually be making the Maple, Bacon and Onion Loaf later on during the week to contribute to a friend’s BBQ – I’ll have to retro post pictures.

There are only a couple of gluten free recipes so this cook book is not suitable for those with gluten intolerance. Some recipes seem quite simple, others fairly complex so I think it would suit a range of people from the first timer to the regular home baker interested in Currie’s make ahead method.

Make Ahead Bread is available to purchase from

Taunton Press I Amazon US I BookDepository I Indiebound

via Booko

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Beth F
    Nov 02, 2014 @ 21:44:00

    In the winter, I bake bread a few times a week, but I like the idea of dividing the process into parts. I’ll have to check out this book.

    Like

    Reply

  2. Patty
    Nov 02, 2014 @ 22:48:59

    A stand mixer does make it easier but there are tons of easy recipes for artisanal bread that are easy too mix, though, and that you store in your refrigerator to bake later. Have fun!

    Like

    Reply

  3. lakesidemusing
    Nov 03, 2014 @ 03:53:08

    I love bread, too, and the idea of having dough in my refrigerator ready to bake sounds very appealing. I’ll have to take a closer look at this book!

    Like

    Reply

I want to know what you think! Your comments are appreciated.

