Review: A Fig at the Gate by Kate Llewellyn

 

Title: A Fig at the Gate

Author: Kate Llewellyn

Published: Allen & Unwin October 2014

Status: Read from October 24 to 25, 2014 — I own a copy {Courtesy the publisher}

My Thoughts:

A distinguished Australian poet, Kate Llewellyn has published six books of poetry and is the co-editor of The Penguin Book of Australian Women Poets. She is the author of nineteen books, including Lilies, Feathers & Frangipani on the Cook Islands and New Zealand; Angels and Dark Madonnas on India and Italy; and Gorillas, Tea & Coffee: An African Sketchbook.

A Fig at the Gate is written in the tradition of her bestseller titles The Waterlily: A Blue Mountains Journal and Playing With Water: A Story of a Garden. Now in her seventies, Kate has settled in Adelaide near where she was born and is establishing a new garden to nourish, sustain and delight.

Journal entries chart the evolution of Kate’s garden over three years, the planting of plum trees and cabbages, of wisteria, cumquats and rosemary, along with the addition of chickens and ducks.
Kate also shares her musings and learned wisdom on life, aging, family and friendship, her prose interspersed with her poetry.

A Fig at the Gate is warm, gracious and wise chronicle of nature, beauty and life.

*Please note I choose not to rate memoirs*

Available to purchase from

Allen & Unwin Iboomerang-books_long I Booktopia I Bookworld I via Booko

Amazon AU  I Amazon US

and all good bookstores.

awwbadge_2014

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. herschelian
    Oct 27, 2014 @ 21:03:11

    I really want to read this so have put it on my Xmas Wish List! – just in case no one gives it to me, I plan to give a copy to my sister – so I can always borrow it from her – ha ha!

    Like

    Reply

  2. MarthaE
    Oct 29, 2014 @ 05:00:42

    I wondered why it had no rating. Now I know. Sounds like an enjoyable read.

    Like

    Reply

I want to know what you think! Your comments are appreciated.

