Review: The Wonder of All Things by Jason Mott

 

Title: The Wonder of All Things

Author: Jason Mott

Published: Harlequin MIRA September 2014

Read and Excerpt

Status: Read from September 29 to October 01, 2014 — I own a copy {Courtesy the publisher/Netgalley}

My Thoughts:

In the Wonder of All Things by Jason Mott, thirteen year old Ava, trapped under a collapsed structure with her badly injured best friend, Wash, lays her hands on his wound, closes her eyes and wishes for him to be healed. To the astonishment of witnesses, including Ava’s police chief father, Wash’s injury vanishes, and Ava collapses. As word spreads of the ‘Miracle Child’, the small town in which Ava lives is inundated with people seeking her touch, and Ava and her family struggle under the weight of expectation, even as it becomes apparent that Ava’s gift comes at a grave cost to her own health.

The Wonder of All Things shares similar themes with Mott’s debut novel The Returned. Placing a young, innocent child at the center of the maelstrom of controversy, the author examines issues such as faith, morality, loss, love, duty, and sacrifice.

For Ava and her family, father Macon and pregnant stepmother, Carmen the conflict centers around ensuring their safety and well-being, and the demands the community is making to ‘share’ the miracle. Mott also explores the response of friends and strangers to the event and exposes the conflicting emotions of awe and suspicion, selflessness and greed that it provokes.

As with The Returned, Jason Mott offers no explanation for the occurrence of a miracle. I understand this is a source of frustration for many readers but it isn’t something I mind.

“And, sometimes in life, love and loving can still lead to an ending that we would otherwise choose. A fate with no blame to be taken. She understood that, in this world, there are unexplained wonders and faultless horrors both.”

Though ultimately there is nothing particularly original about its premise or in the way it plays out, I thought The Wonder of All Things was nevertheless a moving and thought provoking story.

 

The Wonder of All Things is available to purchase at

Harlequin I AmazonUS I BookDepository I Indiebound

Harlequin Au I via Booko

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. readingwritingandriesling
    Oct 02, 2014 @ 01:09:43

    I must finish this book….soon….I am struggling with formatting issues.

    Like

    Reply

  2. notesoflifeuk
    Oct 02, 2014 @ 04:44:33

    I’ve not heard of this one before, but it’s actually grabbed my interest. I might just give it a go!🙂

    Like

    Reply

  3. Jeann @ Happy Indulgence
    Oct 02, 2014 @ 21:12:59

    Great review, I haven’t read The Returned yet but I like how it’s a thought provoking read. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

    Reply

  4. Deborah
    Oct 05, 2014 @ 13:50:17

    Oh, interesting…. I’m a big fan of closure (and a control freak!) so I think I’d be frustrated without the ‘why’ (or ‘how’)?!

    Like

    Reply

I want to know what you think! Your comments are appreciated.

