Stuff On Sundays: What My Kids Are Reading…

Regular visitors will be aware I am a mother of four children who I hope will enjoy reading as much as I do as they grow up. My husband doesn’t read at all – not even the newspaper – so  it’s up to me to set a good example. We go to the library every couple of weeks so they can choose what to read, they also bring home books from the school library. However, of the four, I have one non reader, 2 readers and 1 reluctant reader.

Simariah, who is 18, doesn’t read anything longer than Facebook status updates and text messages despite my best efforts.

text

Aleah, who is eleven, is an eager reader. She is just starting to show an interest in more YA rather than MG titles.
She has just finished Fool Me Twice and Wish You Were Italian from the If Only series published by Bloomsbury

 

And is currently reading Nowhere Boys by Elise McCredie

Makyah, ten, likes to read before bed. He has recently worked his way through Robert Muchamore’s Cherub series

muchamore

And I just bought him the first book in the Skullduggery Pleasant series to try.

Skulduggery-Pleasant-series-reading-24113663-1487-904

Jasiah, eight, will only read when there is absolutely nothing better to do or if it is related to whatever his current gaming obsession is.
I’ve recently bought him the Minecraft Handbooks which he refers to over and over again. At least he is reading something!

egmont-minecraft-books

What are your kids reading?

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tanya Patrice
    Sep 14, 2014 @ 23:07:08

    Ah yes – I’ve gotten the Minecraft handbooks too for my youngest🙂 He’ll devour those types of video game handbooks – which are pretty thick – but he’s not an eager reader as you said – I like that term🙂

    Like

    Reply

  2. laurelrainsnow
    Sep 15, 2014 @ 00:32:19

    Two of my four kids are readers…but several of my grandchildren have picked up the reading bug. And anything can happen later on….thanks for sharing.

    Like

    Reply

  3. thebookdate
    Sep 15, 2014 @ 05:18:30

    It’s interesting isn’t how some pick it up and some don’t. Perhaps its the genes! Many of the boys in my class have been hooked in by Robert Muchamore. I’ve seen the minecraft books too!

    Like

    Reply

    • shelleyrae @ Book'd Out
      Sep 16, 2014 @ 16:56:40

      I think it is at least somewhat Kathryn. My youngest – the reluctant reader- is actually way above grade level in Maths like his father was, whereas I need a calculator for anything past the basics of two number addition!

      Like

      Reply

  4. Lisa
    Sep 16, 2014 @ 00:16:50

    It’s always so interesting to see how readers’ kids can end up reading… or not. My daughter was as obsessed with as I am while she was growing up, and now that she’s an adult, she still always has a book or two with her wherever she goes. On the other hand, my 12-year-old son will only read when forced to. although he does like reading with me at bedtime still, which I consider something of a blessing.

    Like

    Reply

  5. stacybuckeye
    Sep 17, 2014 @ 12:52:49

    At least you’ve got some reading company! My husband doesn’t read either but he does listen to audio books on his commute so we can sometimes discuss books!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

I want to know what you think! Your comments are appreciated.

