Review: The Girl in 6E by A.R. Torre

 

 

Title: The Girl in 6E

Author: A.R. Torre

Published: Orion: Hachette July 2014

Status: Read on July 28, 2014 — I own a copy   {Courtesy the publisher/Netgalley}

My Thoughts:

The Girl in 6E by A.R. Torre caught my attention with its provocative premise. As ‘Jessica Reilly’, a 19 year old college coed, 21 year old Deanna Madden earns $6.99 a minute meeting the virtual sexual fantasies of the men and women willing to pay for her time. This allows her to support herself, utilising online shopping to organise regular deliveries of supplies ensuring Deanna never has to leave her apartment. For to do so could be dangerous… not for Deanna, but for anyone who might cross her path.

Torre’s unusual protagonist, Deanna, has an obsessive desire to commit murder (Torre uses the term ‘cruorimania’), and believes she is a threat to anyone whom she might come into contact with. She has already killed once, the details of which remain concealed for much of the novel, and fantasises about doing so again. This explains her self imposed imprisonment and her shunning of human interaction.

Deanna is content with the arrangements she has made to isolate herself but her carefully constructed haven begins to destabilise firstly when her regular delivery guy, Jeremy, becomes too curious about the girl in 6E, and then when the sexual obsessions of a client she knows as Ralph begins to concern her. Ralph seems fixated on a single fantasy featuring a young girl called Annie, and when Deanna learns a 7 year old girl of the same name has been abducted, she is convinced Ralph is responsible and comes up with a plan to allow her to rescue the child and slake her blood lust at the same time.

It really isn’t until almost half way through that either of the main plot line’s, Jeremy’s intrusion and Annie’s abduction, gain momentum. Much of the first half of the book involves Deanna introducing us, in the first person, to her narrow world, and providing an explicit glimpse into the professional world of ‘camming’.

I have to admit I’m left feeling a little unsure about The Girl in 6E overall. I found it interesting in many ways, and was never tempted to put it aside, but I can’t say I enjoyed it exactly, and I doubt I will bother with the sequel.

FYI: The Girl in 6 E was originally self published as “On Me, In Me, Dead Beneath Me”, though the story has since been heavily revised for traditional publication.

 

 The Girl in 6E is available for purchase from

Hachetteboomerang-books_long I Booktopia I Bookworld I Amazon AU I AmazonUS

via Booko

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. cleopatralovesbooks
    Aug 01, 2014 @ 20:56:19

    This sounds like a great premise but I get the feeling that you weren’t totally convinced by the execution. I still might be tempted to see what I think though.

    Like

    Reply

  2. laurelrainsnow
    Aug 04, 2014 @ 11:44:36

    I am definitely curious….but I will give it some time before I decide. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

    Reply

  3. stacybuckeye
    Aug 05, 2014 @ 10:44:58

    I read another review of this one that felt similar to yours. Enough to intrigue me, but not enough to pick it up.

    Like

    Reply

I want to know what you think! Your comments are appreciated.

