Review: Deadly Curiosities by Gail Z Martin

 

Title: Deadly Curiosities {Deadly Curiosities #1}

Author: Gail Z Martin

Published: Solaris Books June 2014

Status: Read from June 19 to 21, 2014 — I own a copy

My Thoughts:

Deadly Curiosities is the full length introduction to a new urban fantasy series by Gail Z. Martin, preceded by seven related short stories self published by the author.

Cassidy Kincaide is the owner of Trifles & Folly, an antique/curio store and high-end pawn shop in Charleston, South Carolina. Cassidy inherited the family business, in operation since 1670, upon her uncle’s death, finally learning of the family secret and the truth about her own unique skill with psychometry – the ability to know the history associated with an object by touch. Her gift allows Cassidy, with the help of her 500 year old business partner, Sorren, to assist The Alliance – a group of mortals and paranormal beings, in identifying and removing dangerous items harbouring supernatural power from public circulation. In Deadly Curiosities, antiques previously assessed as inert are suddenly creating problems for their new owners. It’s up to Cassidy, along with friend and colleague Teag, to determine the cause of the black magic igniting Charleston’ deadly history and put a stop to it.

I was excited by the premise of Deadly Curiosities, and I still think the concept is strong, but the style of the narrative didn’t quite work for me. I struggled with the incidences of repetition, not only in the information presented, but Martin’s tendency to state and then restate lines. I also felt the way in which Cassidy’s visions were presented, in the past tense with Cassidy as an observer, dampened the sense of immediacy and gave the narrative a somewhat disjointed feel.

I do think there is real potential in the characters for Martin to develop an interesting cast. Cassidy is likeable, and her talent is interesting though I didn’t feel like I learned much about her outside of what she is capable of. I was quite intrigued by Teag’s abilities as a ‘weaver’ that not only gives him in an infinity for traditional materials such as fabric and knots but also the world wide web. Sorren is a bit of an enigma however I’ve since learned that his character is established in the short stories prequels.

I really liked the atmospheric setting, Deadly Curiosities is set in Charleston, a town rich in history, which Martin exploits to good effect, though I have to admit I have no idea how much of what is presented is actually based on truth.

Overall I would have to judge Deadly Curiosities as an ‘okay’ read for me, though I can see, in the story and characters, the potential.

Available to Purchase From

Solaris I AmazonUS I BookDepository I IndieBound

via Booko

I want to know what you think! Your comments are appreciated.

