It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

The Its Monday! What Are You Reading meme is hosted at Book Journey.

Life…

I am really not happy with WordPress at the  moment. Midweek they decided to change the way in which images can be manipulated within posts under the guise of simplifying the process. WordPress insists this is an upgrade, but given it removes advanced features that I rely on without replacing them, or offering an alternative, then it is a downgrade as far as I am concerned, especially as it means I have to spend extra time manipulating the html for every post I publish.

I am certain the frustration has contributed to my struggle writing reviews this week. The words just wouldn’t come and now I am behind at a time when I really can’t afford to be. Does this happen to you? How do you handle it? I ended up refusing to turn to computer on at all on Saturday, usually I would do at least some work in the late afternoon after spending most of the day at basketball and then grocery shopping. Instead, I watched the entirety of season two of Warehouse 13 on Netflix!

What I Read Last Week

Safe Harbour by Helene Young

Beams Falling by P.M. Newton

Betrayed by Jaqui Rose

The Violet Hour by Katherine Hill

Be Safe I Love You by Cara Hoffman

Tracking North by Kerry McGinnis

Before I Go To Sleep by S.J. Watson

 

 New Posts

(click the titles to read my reviews)

Review: Safe Harbour by Helene Young ★★★★1/2

Review: Beams Falling by P.M. Newton ★★★★1/2

Review: Betrayed by Jacqui Rose ★★

Review: Be Safe I Love You by Cara Hoffman ★★★★

Review: Tracking North by Kerry McGinnis ★★★★

Stuff on Sundays: Snugg-le Up!

What I Am Reading Today

When a school reunion brings home more than just memories…  Back in Calingarry Crossing to sell the family pub, Maggie Lindeman has no idea a perfect storm is heading her way until her past and present collide with the unexpected.  Maggie once had a crush on Dan Ireland, now a work-weary police crash investigator, still hell-bent on punishing himself for his misspent youth. Dan has ample reason for not going home to Calingarry Crossing for the school reunion, but one very good reason why he should. Maggie is dealing with a restless seventeen-year-old son, a father with dementia, a fame-obsessed musician husband, a dwindling bank account and a country pub that just won’t sell.  The last thing she needs is a surprise houseguest for the summer. Fiona Bailey-Blair, daughter of an old friend and spoilt with everything but the truth, whips up a maelstrom of gossip when she blows into town.  This storm season, when a school reunion brings home more than memories, Maggie Lindeman will discover … there’s no keeping a lid on some secrets.

 What I Plan To Read This Week

(click the covers to view at Goodreads)

 

Cath and Wren are identical twins, and until recently they did absolutely everything together.  Now they’re off to university and Wren’s decided she doesn’t want to be one half of a pair any more – she wants to dance, meet boys, go to parties and let loose. It’s not so easy for Cath. She’s horribly shy and has always buried herself in the fan fiction she writes, where she always knows exactly what to say and can write a romance far more intense than anything she’s experienced in real life. Without Wren Cath is completely on her own and totally outside her comfort zone. She’s got a surly room-mate with a charming, always-around boyfriend, a fiction-writing professor who thinks fan fiction is the end of the civilized world, a handsome classmate who only wants to talk about words …And she can’t stop worrying about her dad, who’s loving and fragile and has never really been alone. Now Cath has to decide whether she’s ready to open her heart to new people and new experiences, and she’s realizing that there’s more to learn about love than she ever thought possible …

Laura Murphy will need to call on all her grit and determination to retain her beloved farm… But will her fierce self reliance close her off to the possibility of love? Since inheriting Nambina, the property that’s been in her family for generations, Laura Murphy has worked wonders. Rather than just focus on farming she has set up a successful school, teaching women the basics of managing a property – from fencing and mustering to handling the financial side of the business. But the notoriously self-reliant Laura is lonely and still scarred by a tragedy from her past. She’s also grappling with the hostility of her nearest neighbour and former best friend, Meghan Hunter. The fact that Laura’s ex-boyfriend Josh is Meghan’s brother only makes things worse. When a solicitor contacts Laura saying his clients may have a claim over Nambina, her entire world is turned upside down, and she has to call on all her determination to hold on to the property she’s worked so hard to build. In the process she realises she must reach out to friends and loved ones or risk losing everything.

It’s never too late to make amends. In contemporary London and rural France, a small group of friends reach their late fifties and discover that life still presents them with surprises and unexpected chances for new beginnings. Recently divorced and seeking to reinvent herself, Penny moves to a picturesque town in France and renounces sex—until she meets an irresistible American philosophy professor. Meanwhile, handsome and unmarried Peter falls head over heels for the first time in his life with plump, sexy, and fiercely independent Frieda; David and Angie face challenges in their childless and co-dependent marriage; and Jeremy, twice divorced and the most successful of them all, develops a destructive interest in underage girls. At the heart of the story is Sandy, Penny’s ex-husband and a once acclaimed songwriter who realizes too late that he took his marriage and two children for granted. He wants to make amends with his family, but first he’ll have to confront a secret tragedy that has haunted him for decades. Wonderfully wise and deeply engaging, After Everything provides an insightful look into the complicated relationships we all experience at some point in our lives. As this beautifully written debut novel unfolds, some relationships blossom, some fade, but all reveal the ambivalent nature of the ties that bind us together.

In small-town Cadillac, Texas, Carlene Lovelle and her cousins’ fancy panty business, Bless My Bloomers, is booming. But irony strikes when Carlene discovers another woman’s silk bikini underwear in her husband’s briefcase. Lenny Joe hasn’t just crossed the line, he’s left it in his dust, so Carlene’s taking her revenge to the kitchen. For ten years, Lenny Joe’s team has dominated Cadillac’s Red-Hot Chili Cook-Off. But with Carlene’s Bless My Bloomers team now in the ring, it’s anyone’s game—and when there’s pride and food involved, things are bound to get messy.

Every year hundreds of talented amateurs devote hours to preparing entries for cookery competitions run as part of 600 or so agricultural shows across Australia. In their quest for a precious blue ribbon, they use recipes based on generations of experience and strict judging codes that demand absolute perfection. In this follow-up to her first award-winning book, The Blue Ribbon Cookbook, Liz Harfull brings together 70 tried and true recipes from some of the country’s most enthusiastic and talented show cooks. But more than that, in The Australian Blue Ribbon Cookbook Liz shares their heart-warming stories, and the wisdom, knowledge and generosity of spirit that brings success, even for novices. Whether it’s a traditional Mixed Mustard Pickle or Madeira Cake, mouth-watering Sausage Rolls or Pumpkin Damper, Jenny’s Jam Drops or Cousin Barb’s Jelly Slice, there is something delicious for everyone to try.

The end results may even win you a blue ribbon!

While you are here…

Dance!

Thanks for stopping by, I’ll try to be along to visit you shortly!

36 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Amy
    Mar 31, 2014 @ 13:48:32

    I’m glad I’m not the only one annoyed with the WordPress “upgrade”. Those advanced settings made things so much easier, especially for reoccurring formats and images you knew what size etc you needed. Definitely a downgrade in my books.

    Like

    Reply

  2. eloisej
    Mar 31, 2014 @ 13:58:19

    It seems like everyone is reading Fangirl except me… I’m not sure if I want to jump on that bandwagon or not. Hope you enjoy it!
    http://youmeandacupofteablog.blogspot.com/2014/03/nananananananana-monday.html

    Like

    Reply

  3. Nise' (Under the Boardwalk)
    Mar 31, 2014 @ 13:58:44

    It is frustrating when a change that is supposed to be an improvement ends up being a total mess. I am on the last disc of FanGirl audio, it is good.

    Like

    Reply

  4. Mystica
    Mar 31, 2014 @ 13:59:31

    After Every Thing caught my interest. It sounds such a good story. Various interesting characters all little stories on their own.

    Like

    Reply

  5. thebookdate
    Mar 31, 2014 @ 13:59:38

    Safe Harbour and Crimson Dawn are two books that sound appealing to me. I am not using wordpress, but would annoy me if I was. As it is sometimes with blogger I have to hunt all over the internet to solve some problem or challenge and waste lots of reading time!
    Now dancing is just not my thing!!

    Like

    Reply

  6. Greg
    Mar 31, 2014 @ 14:22:54

    Not being very techie, I can certainly relate to those frustrations. Sounds aggravating! Hope you enjoy Fangirl, I thought it was a lot of fun.

    Like

    Reply

  7. Teddyree
    Mar 31, 2014 @ 14:24:12

    Oh no, I hate that and I would usually do what you’ve done … I like to call it ‘productive procrastination’ lol. I think on that occasion it was the 1st season of Chicago Fire🙂 Blogger has on occasion annoyed me with ‘upgrade’s like that and I waste hours on the internet searching for work arounds. Mind you, you still seem to get a stack more reviews done than I do, even my best ever week wouldn’t cut it lol.

    Loving the look of books you’ve got listed this week. I really enjoyed Safe Harbour, my review goes up tomorrow. Off to check out yours.

    Have a good week and happy reading

    Like

    Reply

  8. Diana Leigh
    Mar 31, 2014 @ 14:26:32

    I’m not happy with the WP image “upgrade” either. I’m still trying to figure it out. The Carolyn Brown book sounds fun!

    My post is HERE. Happy reading!

    Like

    Reply

  9. Jade @ Bits & Bobs
    Mar 31, 2014 @ 20:29:15

    I don’t use WordPress as my hosting site and so I can’t really relate although it does sound like a nightmare, I don’t even do any coding on my blog – yep, I’m that simple.

    I look forward to hearing your thoughts on Fangirl.

    Happy Reading!🙂

    Like

    Reply

  10. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out
    Mar 31, 2014 @ 21:37:26

    I know just enough coding to do the simple things but I’d rather not have to!

    Like

    Reply

  11. readerbuzz
    Mar 31, 2014 @ 22:02:36

    We are at the mercy of those who host our blogs, aren’t we? I’m still in shock about the loss of Google Reader.

    Here’s my It’s Monday!

    Like

    Reply

  12. My Home of Books
    Apr 01, 2014 @ 00:15:20

    I have tried to make a WordPress blog, but without being able to pay someone to help me set it up completely I couldn’t figure it out enough to make a presentable blog. Maybe just me but I found it confusing. I just stick with blogger and every 6 months or so I freshen up my appearance.
    I want to read Safe Harbour and Be Safe I Love You. Have a good week, and sorry you are frustrated with your blog right now.

    Like

    Reply

  13. mpartyka
    Apr 01, 2014 @ 00:55:53

    Sorry to hear about the wordpress frustration. I use blogger which is too simple at times (for my taste).

    I haven’t heard of the show you watched on Netflix, hope it was good! We have had such a terrible spring here that I’m stuck inside (rain, wind, temps around zero C) watching on my ipad. ugh

    have a great week!

    Like

    Reply

  14. laurelrainsnow
    Apr 01, 2014 @ 01:37:18

    I must be doing something wrong, as I haven’t noticed the image problem on WP…could I be hopelessly oblivious? LOL

    I did notice some different features….but nothing major. I do know that they occasionally do other things that make it challenging….

    Enjoy your week, in spite of it all.

    I hope to read Fangirl soon. Here’s MY WEEKLY SUNDAY/MONDAY UPDATES

    Like

    Reply

  15. Tea Time with Marce
    Apr 01, 2014 @ 02:33:41

    Always a great mix of books. I also read Attachments and look forward to reading more by her also.

    Like

    Reply

  16. Lisa
    Apr 01, 2014 @ 03:22:24

    Ugh, the WordPress image “Upgrade” is so frustrating! There are no tools for resizing, other than just dragging by the corners. It’s not an upgrade if you end up with less than before!!!

    Looks like you’ve got some great books coming up. I loved Fangirl! After Every Thing sounds like my kind of book — I’ll look forward to your review. Have a great week!

    Like

    Reply

  17. notesoflifeuk
    Apr 01, 2014 @ 05:32:58

    Real life had gotten in the way of my readnig this month and I’ve managed to read a grand total of one book… Ooops!

    Like

    Reply

  18. Kailana
    Apr 01, 2014 @ 06:18:22

    March was a very slow reading month for me! We went away for a week, I didn’t end up reading anything, and I am having a hard time getting back into the groove since I got home!

    Like

    Reply

  19. Kathy Martin
    Apr 01, 2014 @ 08:35:43

    Sometimes computers can be quite frustrating. My blog is a Google blog but I get irritated with Google too. Remember Google Reader? Anyway… You should a nice assortment of books here. I loved Fangirl but haven’t read any of the others. Have a great week!

    Like

    Reply

  20. curlygeek04
    Apr 01, 2014 @ 10:55:44

    I agree about WordPress although I generally am pretty happy with them (once I figure out what I’m doing). Hope you enjoy all your books. Fangirl is a fun read, and lives up to Rainbow Rowell’s other books.

    Like

    Reply

  21. Jen G. (The Introverted Reader)
    Apr 01, 2014 @ 12:39:47

    I only recently started seeing commercials for Warehouse 13 and thought it looked like fun. It sounds like you approve.🙂 I’ll have to check it out. Good luck with your WordPress issues!

    Like

    Reply

  22. 5eyedbookworm
    Apr 01, 2014 @ 14:15:32

    I noticed that WordPress changed how images are replaced/changed and I’m not happy. At first I thought there was something wrong with my browser. I’m way behind my reviews. I’m just not in the right mood to write now. I’ve written notes for every book I’ve read so I can use that when I’m in the mood to write a review. I hope this will change in April. How do I handle it? Well, I listen to myself. If I have a hard time convincing myself to write I won’t do it. I usually end up not writing anything and it makes me a little guilty but overly frustrated. Not a good advice, I guess haha🙂 I need to work on that😉 I’d love to read Fangirl some day. I’ve heard great things about it. I hope you enjoy reading it.

    Like

    Reply

  23. stacybuckeye
    Apr 02, 2014 @ 02:56:38

    I am not happy that I can’t resize imagesthat I copy and paste anymore. That’s the biggest difference I’ve noticed because I use it a lot!

    Like

    Reply

  24. Leslie
    Apr 02, 2014 @ 03:48:55

    I wish I understood why WordPress insists on fixing things that aren’t broken, they do it way too often. I dislike their visual editor soooo much that I’ve resigned myself to code in HTML – yeah, it takes a little longer but this way my posts look exactly like I want them to. And as a bonus, I’ve taught myself a lot of HTML!

    Like

    Reply

I want to know what you think! Your comments are appreciated.

