Review: The One Plus One by JoJo Moyes

Title: The One Plus One

Author: JoJo Moyes

Published: Michael Joseph: Penguin February 2014

Read An Extract

Status: Read from February 18 to 19, 2014 — I own a copy {Courtesy the publisher/netgalley}

My Thoughts:

The One Plus One is a heartfelt and engaging story from JoJo Moyes. Jess is a single mother, working two jobs to support her daughter and step-son on an English housing estate. Ed is a computer software developer facing a crisis of his own making. When Ed reluctantly rescues Jess from the side of the road, the pair embark on a road trip to Scotland with two children and a large, smelly dog in tow, a chaotic, 40 mile an hour drive to Aberdeen that has the potential to change all of their lives.

Told with the shifting perspectives of Jess, Ed and the children, math genius Tanzie and bullied teen, Nicky, Moyes explores a number of issues facing modern western society today, including the impact of bullying and anti social behaviour, family breakdown, the slow erosion of community values and the increasing divide between the haves, and have nots.

While Ed’s financial means provides him with a cushion against the consequences of his behaviour, and the behaviour of others, Jess has no such luxury. She and her children are vulnerable to the whims of Jess’s wealthy clientele, to the thugs on their estate, to the manipulations of her absent husband and the capriciousness of luck, which rarely goes her way. Despite her every effort, Jess just barely keeps her head above water, struggling ‘to find a way’ in the face of overwhelming odds.

I couldn’t help but love Jess, her optimism, her strength and her determination is admirable. I sympathised with her desperation to give Tanzie the opportunity to take up the scholarship on offer, and her concern for Nicky, bullied mercilessly by the neighborhood thugs. The children tug at your heart strings and I ached for Jess when she felt she had failed them.
I needed to time to warm up to Ed who is initially self involved and oblivious. He is essentially a good man but careless with his privilege, his family and friendships. His journey with Jess and her children changes him, earning respect and redemption.

The One Plus One is funny, poignant and charming story with characters that you can’t help but fall in love with. Its about family, about belonging and about love and a wonderful read.

Available to Purchase From

 PenguinAUI boomerang-books_long I Booktopia I Amazon AU I via Booko I

AmazonUS I BookDepository

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Marg
    Feb 24, 2014 @ 22:55:36

    I know I said something similar on FB but a comment is a comment,especially seeing as I haven’t actually done any blog hopping for months!

    I have high hopes for this, especially after really liking her last few books, especially Me Before You!

    Like

    Reply

  2. Laura Fabiani
    Feb 25, 2014 @ 02:39:41

    I loved two previous books by her so I’m really looking forward to reading this one.

    Like

    Reply

  3. laurelrainsnow
    Feb 25, 2014 @ 03:44:14

    This one is on my pre-ordered list…can’t wait! I have a couple of Moyes’ earlier books on my Sparky. Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

    Like

    Reply

  4. Kailana
    Feb 25, 2014 @ 05:20:13

    One day when I finally read Moyes, I do have a couple books by her, I will have to check this one out. She seems to release books very quickly!

    Like

    Reply

  5. Helen
    Feb 25, 2014 @ 09:22:28

    Sounds like a good book.

    Like

    Reply

  6. thebookdate
    Feb 25, 2014 @ 14:54:43

    Haven’t read anything yet by this author but I intend reading this one to try her out, in 2014. You and Sheree have given it a great review.

    Like

    Reply

  7. susanbright
    Feb 27, 2014 @ 08:57:47

    I loved Me Before You, I definitely want to read The One Plus One. Thanks!

    Like

    Reply

  8. 1girl2manybooks
    Feb 27, 2014 @ 19:03:29

    I really need to find the time to squeeze this one in!

    Like

    Reply

  9. stacybuckeye
    Mar 01, 2014 @ 15:55:44

    I can’t wait to get to this one!

    Like

    Reply

  10. Teena in Toronto (@TeenainToronto)
    Jun 22, 2014 @ 01:54:27

    Reply

  11. Trackback: Audio Book Review - THE ONE PLUS ONE by Jojo Moyes

I want to know what you think! Your comments are appreciated.

