Novella Reviews: Color Me Bad by Sharon Sala and Disconnected by Jennifer Weiner

I rarely read novella’s but I picked up Color Me Bad when I accepted The Curl Up and Dye for review and I mistook Disconnected for a full length novel.  However, waiting around during my daughter’s beauty appointment’s this week, these two very different stories were the perfect length to keep me entertained – do you read novella’s? Why/Why not?

Title: Color Me Bad

Author: Sharon Sala

Published: Sourcebooks September 2013

Status: Read on November 10, 2013 — I own a copy {Courtesy the publisher/Netgalley}

My Thoughts:

If you want to know what to expect from Sharon Sala’s new cosy series, Curl Up and Dye, this novella, Color Me Bad, is a great introduction to the quirky residents of Blessings, Georgia.

Divorcee Ruby Dye owns the towns beauty shop, Curl Up and Dye, staffed by identical twins Vera and Vesta Conklin and Mabel Jean Doolittle. On a quiet weekday morning all hell breaks loose when the wife and mistress of Preacher Clymer Conrad cross paths in the salon. One woman leaves minus her hair and her dignity, the other with a plan that shakes up the entire town.

Funny, heartwarming and thick with southern charm, this is an entertaining and engaging story which will have you looking forward to the first book in the series, due for publication in Feb 2014, The Curl Up and Dye.

Available to Purchase From

AmazonUS I Barnes & Noble I iTunes I AmazonUK

**************

Title: Disconnected

Author: Jennifer Weiner

Published: Atria: Simon and Schuster November 2013

Status: Read on November 14, 2013 — I own a copy {Courtesy the publisher/Netgally}

My Thoughts:

After her sixth attempt at rehab, Shannon finally decides to embrace sobriety, faithfully attending meetings and make and effort to rebuild her life. In following the advice of her sponsor to cut all ties with her former life, Shannon decides to get a new phone but almost immediately she begins to receive strange texts from an unknown caller which threaten to derail her recovery.

This isn’t a story I expected from Jennifer Weiner but it bears the hallmarks of her stylish, tight writing. A dark story of addiction, tempered by a quest for redemption, with a surprise paranormal twist, Disconnected packs quite a punch despite its diminutive length.

Available to Purchase From

AmazonUS I Barnes & Noble I iTunes

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kathryn
    Nov 17, 2013 @ 18:29:53

    I sometimes read novellas if they are part of a series that I am reading or to see if I like an author. I noticed a much talked about author that everyone was talking about so got her free novella. Didn’t like it, and DNF. So no harm done, she isn’t for me and I’ll spend my time reading someone I do enjoy.

    Like

    Reply

  2. Margaret Lynette Sharp
    Nov 17, 2013 @ 21:26:00

    I have read a few novellas. They are a good choice if one has limited time and wants to finish a story in one sitting.

    Like

    Reply

  3. Lesdeemac
    Nov 22, 2013 @ 17:41:56

    Not for me I’m afraid. I like good crime stories that take a while to get solved. Just when you think it’s over, something comes along to let you know they’ve been heading in the wrong direction. A good mystery can’t be short.

    Like

    Reply

  4. Trackback: Review & Giveaway: The Curl Up and Dye by Sharon Sala | book'd out

I want to know what you think! Your comments are appreciated.

