Review: Someone Else’s Love Story by Joshilyn Jackson

Title: Someone Else’s Love Story

Author: Joshilyn Jackson

Published: William Morrow October 2013

Status: Read from October 23 to 24, 2013 — I own a copy {Courtesy the publisher/Netgalley}

My Thoughts:

The moment William Ashe stepped in front of her three year old son to protect him from the gunman in Circle K, twenty one year Shandi Pierce recognised the stranger as her destiny, a truth William seemed to confirm in a whisper as Shandi hovered over him after he was shot saving their lives. Though Shandi believes William to be her saviour, her soul mate, and as a geneticist, the man able to help her identify her son’s father, William’s heart, and his destiny, are not yet determined.

We are told from the beginning to expect an unconventional love story in Someone Else’s Love Story, and that is exactly what we get, and more.

“That afternoon in the the Circle K, I deserved to know, right off, that I had landed bang in the middle of a love story. Especially since it wasn’t – it isn’t – it could never be, my own.”

Someone Else’s Love Story is a funny and poignant novel exploring the miracles of love, faith and science. The plot seems fairly light and simple, a romantic comedy flavoured with southern eccentrics, but there are serious undertones as her main protagonists, Shandi and William, struggle with loss, grief and anger associated with the tragic events that have touched their lives.

One of the issues I thought Jackson dealt with particularly well arises from the circumstances of Natty’s conception. Though the situation may make some readers uncomfortable, I felt it was handled in a thoughtful and realistic manner.

Jackson’s characters are quirky and complex, never entirely what you expect, but somehow ordinary and familiar as well.
Shandi is an appealing protagonist, though young she has an admirable core of strength evidenced by her mothering of her precocious son Natty, her determination to finish college and her resilience in dealing with her warring parents (and her bitch of a stepmother). Her life has not been easy but, with the support of her best friend Wolcott, she refuses to let go of hope.
William is an complicated hero, a man whose has suffered an awful tragedy and struggles every day with shattering loss. I am a little over the glut of characters on the ‘spectrum’ in contemporary fiction at the moment but William is high functioning, a brilliant geneticist, and his difficulty with processing emotion works well within the context of the story.

I found Someone Else’s Love Story to be an engaging read. There is grief, pain and tragedy, wonderfully tempered by heart, humour and southern charm.

Available to Purchase

HarperCollins I Amazon I Book Depository I IndieBound

via Booko

Short story prequel

!cid_image001_jpg@01CEE146

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. laurelrainsnow
    Oct 31, 2013 @ 13:42:47

    I loved this book, too. Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

    Like

    Reply

  2. 1girl2manybooks
    Oct 31, 2013 @ 18:32:00

    Love the sound of this. Adding it to my wishlist!

    Like

    Reply

  3. Mystica
    Nov 01, 2013 @ 22:42:41

    The book is new to me. Thanks for the review.

    Like

    Reply

  4. stacybuckeye
    Nov 07, 2013 @ 15:29:14

    I’ll be reading this soon. I haven’t noticed a lot of characters on the spectrum in the fiction I’ve read so I’m looking forward to it.

    Like

    Reply

  5. Trackback: Review: Someone Else’s Love Story – Joshilyn Jackson | All The Books I Can Read

I want to know what you think! Your comments are appreciated.

