Review: Tempting Fate by Jane Green

Title: Tempting Fate

Author: Jane Green

Published: Penguin Australia September 2013

Read an Extract

Status: Read from September 23 to 24, 2013 — I own a copy {Courtesy the publisher}

My Thoughts:

Jane Green has established herself as a best selling author of womens fiction, publishing more than a dozen novels in the last fifteen years or so. Her latest release, Tempting Fate, is the story of Gaby Cartwright, a housewife and mother approaching middle age when a mild flirtation over a drink with someone who is not her husband spirals into an obsession which blows her world apart.

Exploring themes such as marriage, motherhood, betrayal and adultery, Tempting Fate is a well crafted story. I felt that Jane Green attempted an honest examination of the consequences for Gabby and her family when her recklessness is exposed. The plot is thought provoking, challenging and engaging and though the ending was just a little too neat and orderly for me, I think it was probably the best choice in order to appeal to Green’s target audience.

The characters of Tempting Fate are believably drawn and respond realistically to the issues they face. I was surprised to find Gabby a largely a likeable protagonist given my general distaste for her actions. Green does a credible job of exposing Gaby’s vulnerabilities and I feel any woman of a similar age and life stage as Gaby will be able to relate to her many of her thoughts and emotions, even if they find the choices she makes morally repugnant.
The author also did well to flesh out the cast and share their reactions to the changes they are forced to accept. I could understand Elliot’s anger and sadness, support her daughters outrage and could sympathise with Gaby’s best friends quandary.

Tempting Fate is a surprisingly compulsive read, drawing the reader in with genuine emotion and a keen understanding of ‘real women, real life and all the things life throws at them’. I found it a quick, entertaining and satisfying read.

Available to Purchase From

Penguin Au I Boomerang Books I Booktopia I Amazon Kindle

via Booko

Amazon US I Amazon UK I BookDepository

 

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jenn J McLeod | House for all Seasons
    Sep 25, 2013 @ 22:12:29

    I have looked at a few of Jane’s books but have yet to find time to read one. This one may be it though.

    Like

    Reply

  2. Alex @ Is It Amazing
    Sep 26, 2013 @ 00:19:13

    I haven’t read any of Jane’s books. It sounds interesting though I know what you mean about too tidy endings. I once read a book that was a solid book except for how…. convenient I found everything. I sounds Jane must be a good writer though if you can cheer for the heroine in spite of her actions.

    Like

    Reply

  3. Patty
    Sep 26, 2013 @ 00:46:58

    Sounds yummy!

    Like

    Reply

  4. angrygreycatreads
    Sep 26, 2013 @ 10:45:48

    I have read a couple of her books but was really disappointed with the last one Family Pictures..see review here http://angrygreycatreads.com/?s=family+pictures
    and that makes me hesitant to pick up another one. But your description makes it sound quite good

    Like

    Reply

  5. Trackback: BookTalk Nation — Blog

I want to know what you think! Your comments are appreciated.

