Review: Sierra Court Blues by Lawrence Parlier

 

Title: Sierra Court Blues

Author: Lawrence Parlier

Published: Hawkins Publishing Group August 2013

Read an Excerpt

Status: Read from August 29 to 30, 2013 — I own a copy {Courtesy the Publisher}

My Thoughts:

I decided to accept an offer of to read Lawrence Parlier’s debut novel, Sierra Court Blues, primarily because I have read little contemporary fiction featuring a male protagonist.

At nineteen, Bo Kineally is a husband and father working hard as a welder to support his young family, but as the lead singer and guitarist of a struggling heavy metal band, he dreams of musical stardom. Just as the band gets its first big break, his wife announces she is pregnant again and demands Bo quit, but he refuses and enraged, she kicks him out. Unwilling to return to his parent’s place to live, Bo moves in with best friend and band mate, living in a trailer park called Sierra Court, but his mate is a magnet for drama, and Jon’s hedonistic lifestyle threatens to destroy everything Bo has dreamed of.

Bo is a surprisingly likeable character, and I think Parlier portrays him both sympathetically and realistically. Bo genuinely loves and cares for his toddler son, Kirby and his failing marriage weighs heavily on him, but he is young and still dreams of more than what Bethel, Ohio can offer. This conflict between his responsibilities and his ideals tears him apart and is what drives this novel as Bo struggles to navigate the maelstrom of passion, ego and tragedy.

His friends, mostly his band mates and hangers on, revel in the drama of dysfunctional relationships, drug fueled parties and outbursts of violence, against the background of heavy metal music. Bo gets caught up in the swirling spectacle of high emotion and rolling crises, as the plot reveals the heartbreaking consequences of betrayal, misdeeds and mistakes.

Fierce and moving, Sierra Court Blues is a gritty, contemporary novel about letting go, moving on and growing up.

 

Available to Purchase

Amazon US I BookDepository

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lawrence Parlier
    Sep 01, 2013 @ 09:27:50

    Thank you so much for the review. I really appreciate it!

    Like

    Reply

  2. Belle Read
    Sep 02, 2013 @ 13:46:24

    This sounds like a book that I may enjoy. Thank you for the introduction and the wonderful review.

    Like

    Reply

  3. Cathy
    Sep 25, 2013 @ 08:05:33

    I read the first chapter and sitting here waiting for my book to arrive so I can finish it. I use to read all the time then got to busy in life and had no time, but when I read the first Chapter of this book I KNEW I had to take the time to read it. A must read book and I’m sure everyone will enjoy it, cause I know I will.

    Like

    Reply

I want to know what you think! Your comments are appreciated.

