Review: Ink by Amanda Sun

Title: Ink {Paper Gods #1}

Author: Amanda Sun

Read an extract

Published: Harlequin July 2013

Status: Read from June 27 to 28, 2013 — I own a copy {Courtesy the publisher}

My Thoughts:

I had been looking forward to reading Ink since it was previewed at the Harlequin Summit in February. The first in a new young adult series, it promised an original mythic element set in an exotic but contemporary locale.

Katie Greene is still settling into her new life with her aunt in Shizuoka, Japan, when she accidentally witnesses a nasty break up between Tomohiro and his girlfriend. Katie is shocked at the handsome, Kendo stars cruelty but wonders at his fleeting expression of pain and regret. She is further intrigued when she awkwardly gathers together the sketches flung at her feet and one of the figures appears to turn and glare at her. Despite being warned off by her friends Katie is drawn to Tomo, determined to discover just what she saw, and what he is hiding.

The strongest element of Ink is the introduction of a fresh concept for the paranormal genre which has exhausted all things vampire, werewolf and fae. The myth of the Kami (Japanese Gods), and Tomo’s ability, is interesting and creative. Tomohiro’s sketches come to life, but the spirit that inhabits them is malevolent, turning on him and whomever is near. It’s a power Tomohiro does not understand and tries to keep hidden but he is finding it increasingly difficult to control his ability.

I also liked the way in which Sun incorporates the distinctive cultural traits of the Japanese, from changing footwear, to the popularity of Kendo and the normality of ‘cram’ schools, without bloating the text with details. The meaning of the few Japanese words used can be worked out using context (though there is a glossary at the back if needed) and the setting is a welcome change from small town America.

Unfortunately, I was so frustrated with Katie that my notes while reading Ink consist almost entirely of complaints about her attitude and behaviour. I thought her character was inconsistent, I considered her weak rather than vulnerable and I struggled to make sense of several of her decisions.

Sadly, my disappointment with Sun’s character development affected my enthusiasm for the story considerable. There is definitely potential in the idea and room for the storyline to grow and mature but the characters will have to do the same to keep my interest.

Available to Purchase

@HarlequinAU I @Booktopia I @Amazon Kindle

via Booko

@AmazonUS I @BookDepository

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kathryn White (@KathrynsInbox)
    Jul 01, 2013 @ 22:09:00

    I saw this one at my local bookstore and have been a bit undecided. From your review it appears this one doesn’t live up to its potential, so I might give it a miss.

    Like

    Reply

  2. Julie @ Knitting and Sundries
    Jul 08, 2013 @ 23:25:59

    I have not seen a good review for this one yet. That’s a shame because the cover and the blurb make it seem like a fabulous read. Thanks for the review.

    Like

    Reply

I want to know what you think! Your comments are appreciated.

