It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

The Its Monday! What Are You Reading meme is hosted at Book Journey.

Life…

I don’t like the cold, my knees ache, my fingers burn and all I want to do is remain curled up underneath my doona with a book. Unfortunately I have no choice but to get up and attend to the needs of my husband, children, work and the thousand and one other things that have to be done.  We are just two weeks or so into winter  and I’ve already dug out my gloves, thick socks and slippers. In fact I  am sitting here shivering even though the temperature is still in the low double digits. I have no doubt that those of you who have to endure snowstorms and blizzards think it is hilarious (and a little absurd) but I just really don’t like the cold!

warm bed

What I Read Last Week

The Things We Never Said by Susan Elliot Wright

More Sh*t My Dad Says by Justin Halpern

My Notorious Life by Madame X by Kate Manning

Let it Be by Chad Gayle

The Widow Waltz by Sally Koslow

Murder with the Lot by Sue Williams

New Posts

(click the titles to read my reviews)

Review: Confessions of a Sociopath by M.E. Thomas 1/2

Review: The Things We Never Said by Susan Elliot Wright

Review: Get Well Soon! My (Un)Brilliant Career as a Nurse by Kirsty Chambers

Review: Let It Be by Chad Gayle

Review: The Diabolist by Layton Green

Review: More Sh*t My Dad Says by Justin Halpern

What I Am Reading Today

The enchanting Jingera trilogy concludes with a heart-rending story of love and the callous twists of fate. Back in 1958, nine-year-old Zidra Vincent met Jim Cadwallader for the first time. Thirteen years later, their bond of friendship – forged during a childhood in the beautiful coastal town of Jingera – is still strong. But is friendship all they dream of? Jim is now a respected war correspondent in Cambodia, though he has plans to come home for good because there is something very important he wants to say to Zidra. Zidra, meanwhile, is an ambitious reporter at the Sydney Morning Chronicle, and the seeds of a major story have just landed in her lap. Life is looking good, if only she could share it with the man who knows her best. Then, while at work in the newsroom one morning, Zidra catches sight of a wire service bulletin of a story out of Cambodia. The body of a Western journalist has been discovered near Phnom Penh and her world collapses around her .

What I Plan To Read This Week

(click the covers to view at Goodreads)

Brisbane lawyer Clare Mitchell has a structured, orderly life. That is, until she finds herself the unlikely guardian of a small, troubled boy. In desperation, Clare takes Jack to stay at Currawong Creek, her grandfather’s horse stud in the foothills of the beautiful Bunya Mountains. Currawong feels like home and Clare relaxes for the first time in years. Her grandad adores having them there. Jack loves the animals. And Clare finds herself falling hard for the handsome local vet. But trouble is coming. The Pyramid Mining Company threatens to destroy the land Clare loves – and with it, her newfound happiness …

Ruth Lennox, beloved mother of three, is found by her daughter in a pool of her own blood. Who would want to murder an ordinary housewife? And why? Psychotherapist Frieda Klein finds she has an unusually personal connection with DCI Karlsson’s latest case. She is no longer working with him in an official capacity, but when her niece befriends Ruth Lennox’s son, Ted, she finds herself in the awkward position of confidante to both Karlsson and Ted. When it emerges that Ruth was leading a secret life, her family closes ranks and Karlsson finds he needs Frieda’s help more than ever before. But Frieda is distracted. Having survived an attack on her life, she is struggling to stay in control and when a patient’s chance remark rings an alarm bell, she finds herself chasing down a path that seems to lead to a serial killer who has long escaped detection. Or is it merely a symptom of her own increasingly fragile mind? Because, as Frieda knows, every step closer to a killer is one more step into a darkness from which there may be no return . . .

If Dragon Tattoo’s Mikael Blomkvist and the Hunger Games’ Katniss Everdeen could have a love-child, she’d probably be a lot like Sam Blackett… Sam had given up her Manhattan job, and her cute apartment in Brooklyn. She’d abandoned her astonished boyfriend to the charms of ESPN, and flown off into a new dawn to chase her dream of becoming an investigative journalist.  Three months later, alone in a soulless internet café, she’s facing some cold, hard facts; she’s unpublished, unhappy and broke. And right then, the gorgeous Pete Halland blows into her life – headed for the mythical Powder Burn mountain to write history and blast into legend.  If she throws in her lot with Pete and reports the story for National Geographic magazine it could rescue her ambitions, but he’s holding back some crucial information – the question for Sam is… what? Soon, Sam is up to her neck in snow and the weather is the least of her problems; lost in a secretive Himalayan kingdom with – what could be – a magic sword and a simmering and potentially bloody revolution.  But the father she lost to the war in Iraq was a marine, and he taught her a few tricks in the Vermont backcountry that might just get her out alive – and with a story to tell that could make the front page of the New York Times.

Can a person ever really disappear for good by going off the grid? And what happens when vanishing is no longer an option? Sarah Keller is a single mother living quietly in Oklahoma with her five year-old daughter, Zoe; her job is to hunt down people who are trying to avoid arrest and bring them to justice. But when a school bus accident sends Zoe to the ER, that life explodes in a heartbeat because medical tests show that Zoe isn’t Sarah’s daughter and the lie Sarah has been living all these years is suddenly all too obvious. Who were Zoe’s parents? Why has Sarah concealed the truth? And how will she and Zoe stay off the grid when the cops, the FBI and a sinister religious cult are all hunting them down . . . for very different reasons.

The only child of two famous but self-absorbed artists, Zelda Steele is adopted by her parent’s patrons when she is just a baby. Great things are expected of this privileged young woman, but at twenty-seven Zelda is dead, leaving two young children and a body of work that only hints at her promise. Decades later, Zelda’s daughter Ruth returns to her childhood home to find the diaries her mother is rumoured to have kept. What they reveal takes her on a journey into the past: her mother’s, her grandmothers and, ultimately, her own. Weaving together the narratives of three very different women, living in vastly different times, The Steele Diaries paints a rich and evocative portrait of the Sydney art scene from the thirties to the seventies, and the eternal conflict between motherhood and self

While you are here…

Enter to Win

1 of 3 print copies of  The Avalon Ladies Scrapbook Society by Darian Gee. Australia only. Closes June 23rd

Congratulate

The winners of Destiny Road by Melissa Wray. Julie, Claire and Jenn

Thanks for stopping by, I’ll be along to visit you shortly!

 

28 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. fanficfan44
    Jun 17, 2013 @ 14:33:07

    Some interesting books, a few I haven’t heard of or seen on other blogs. I may have to read more about them.

    Like

    Reply

  2. Daystarz Books
    Jun 17, 2013 @ 14:47:06

    Am with you on the cold. I’m freezing today – in trackies, hoodie, bedsocks and wrapped in doona on the recliner. Might have to retire to bed with electric blanket on. Glad I don’t live where it snows. Good weather for reading though!

    Like

    Reply

  3. Faith Hope & Cherrytea
    Jun 17, 2013 @ 14:59:22

    I come from one of the lands of ice, snow and blizzards and totally get the picture you’re painting!
    Plug in the kettle and get something hot to warm you from the inside out🙂 so you can enjoy your reading week !

    Like

    Reply

  4. ponderingbks
    Jun 17, 2013 @ 16:41:27

    ” I have no doubt that those of you who have to endure snowstorms and blizzards think it is hilarious ” … Not absurd. Maybe slightly amusing. But that kind of weather is PERFECT for snuggling up with a book, so I’m sorry about you needing to get up and go out in it.

    I actually recognized the titles of several of the books you have listed. Either I’m being better about knowing what’s out there, or you’re reading less of those hard to find Australian books.

    Like

    Reply

  5. Leeswammes
    Jun 17, 2013 @ 17:00:12

    I’m sorry you’re so cold. I both feel empathy and a sense of justice. I very well remember how you were complaining about the heat several moths ago when we were so, so cold. It’s very satisfying to see the tables are turned. On the other hand, I feel for you. Hope the weather turns warmer soon.

    Like

    Reply

  6. Teddyree
    Jun 17, 2013 @ 17:19:52

    LOL I’m miserable when it’s cold too and everything aches but then having just been in Bali with 90+ % humidity that was kind of horrid too … was nice swimming weather though. I want to read some Nicci French, must add to my mountain. Off to check out some reviews. Have a great week and happy reading. PS do the housework with a hot water bottle tucked in your trackies lol

    Like

    Reply

  7. readerbuzz
    Jun 17, 2013 @ 21:08:32

    I’ve never experienced snowy-icy-cold. It sounds awful. If it is any consolation, we are blazing here, in the upper 90’s (F) each day.

    Here’s my It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

    Like

    Reply

  8. Kathryn White (@KathrynsInbox)
    Jun 17, 2013 @ 21:20:57

    The steel diaries looks rather interesting …

    I’m with you about the cold–I know it’s nothing compared to what many people in other parts of the world experience, but that doesn’t make it any less daunting to get out of bed on cold and dark mornings. I think I’d rather be reading too🙂

    Like

    Reply

  9. Mystica
    Jun 17, 2013 @ 21:43:39

    I liked the Kate Manning book too.

    Like

    Reply

  10. Jennifer @ The Relentless Reader
    Jun 17, 2013 @ 22:43:36

    I’m used to snowy cold weather so it doesn’t phase me a whole lot😉 I’m in Wisconsin and we have LONG winters here. We always have a few weeks of terribly humid/hot weather in the summer and that makes me miserable.

    I have to go check out your Sociopath review, I’m curious about that one.

    Have a great week!

    Like

    Reply

  11. laurelrainsnow
    Jun 17, 2013 @ 23:05:54

    I adore the Freda Klein series, but so far, Waiting for Wednesday is not available on Amazon here. I’m tempted to order it from the UK site…but maybe I’ll wait a bit. I also want to read The Widow Waltz.

    Enjoy your week and thanks for visiting my blog.

    Like

    Reply

  12. Erin @Quixotic Magpie
    Jun 17, 2013 @ 23:21:04

    Ooo Confessions of a Sociopath sounds good! I am so intrigued by those type of books. I am so sorry about the cold weather! I understand completely.😦

    Like

    Reply

  13. Holly Mueller
    Jun 17, 2013 @ 23:44:09

    These are all new books to me! They look good!

    Like

    Reply

  14. Shannon (Giraffe Days)
    Jun 17, 2013 @ 23:46:45

    Love the sound of Currawong Creek. So many titles here I haven’t heard of! God it’s been donkeys since I last read a Nicci French book; I think I have one with me, that I haven’t read; the rest have been shipped.

    Am not very sympathetic of the cold where you are – I’m looking forward to Aussie cold after years of Canadian freezing!! Bring on the socks and jumpers and doona-snuggling-time, woo-hoo!

    Like

    Reply

  15. Kathy Martin
    Jun 17, 2013 @ 23:53:55

    I am not a big fan of cold weather either. We are experiencing it now even though it is supposed to be summer. However, being curled up under a blanket does make for more reading time. Come see my Monday Report here. Happy reading!

    Like

    Reply

  16. Silver's Reviews
    Jun 18, 2013 @ 00:04:47

    My Notorious Life and The Widow Waltz look good to me. ENJOY your week….looks like a good one.

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My It’s Monday, What Are You Reading

    Like

    Reply

  17. Lori C. (dollycas)
    Jun 18, 2013 @ 01:01:26

    French’s Tuesday book dragged just a bit for me but can’t wait to read Waiting for Wednesday. Sending warm thoughts your way, it is steamy here today🙂

    Like

    Reply

  18. Petty Witter
    Jun 18, 2013 @ 02:13:21

    Such a various selection, I wouldn’t know which to read first.

    Like

    Reply

  19. Bettina Grissen
    Jun 18, 2013 @ 02:37:06

    I hope you like Waiting for Wednesday! I also really like the sound and the look of your other books, so have a great week reading them!

    Kind regards,

    Like

    Reply

  20. Turn the Page Reviews
    Jun 18, 2013 @ 02:47:03

    I liked you review for Let it Be- I read that also and enjoyed it- a nice debut novel. I am so sorry you are suffering the cold. We just started getting warm weather here- we have had a tough year in the NorthEast of the US and are hoping for a clam, boring summer🙂

    Like

    Reply

  21. Jamie
    Jun 18, 2013 @ 09:51:46

    Hmm, these titles are all new to me. Hope you are enjoying your current read.
    Here is my Monday .

    Like

    Reply

  22. Diana Leigh
    Jun 18, 2013 @ 12:58:56

    I don’t like the cold either. After a long, dreadfully snowy winter, we’re finally warming up here in the mid-US.

    Currawong Creek sounds good. Enjoy your week!

    Like

    Reply

  23. Lindsey
    Jun 18, 2013 @ 13:30:23

    The Steele Diaries sounds like a great read. I have to imagine that the author didn’t name her unfulfilled artist Zelda by accident!
    Have a wonderful week and I hope you can stay warm!

    Like

    Reply

  24. Heidi
    Jun 18, 2013 @ 18:58:10

    I loved Waiting for Wednesday and The Shadow Tracer – get the fire going, drag the doona into the loungeroom, phones switched off, some hot chocolate and cake, and in for some hours of reading pleasure – that’s what I am planning to do on my next two days off, after working night shift (it’s a good excuse I think). Enjoy!

    Like

    Reply

  25. Mark Chisnell
    Jun 19, 2013 @ 19:09:34

    A mix of anxiety and excitement descended on me when I saw this post… Powder Burn gets reviewed, yayyy…!! In the same week as a Nicci French book, eekk….!!

    I couldn’t leave without a comment on the weather (I am a Brit after all). It’s low double digits here and it’s the middle of summer. ‘Nuff said.

    Like

    Reply

I want to know what you think! Your comments are appreciated.

