Review: The Doll by Taylor Stevens

Title: The Doll {Vanessa Michael Munroe #3}

Author: Taylor Stevens

Published: Crown: Random House Jane 2013

Read an Excerpt

Status: Read from June 04 to 05, 2013 — I own a copy

My Thoughts:

Plunging straight into the action from the first page, The Doll is an addictive, fast paced thriller. The third book in Taylor Stevens series featuring Vanessa Michael Munroe sees ‘Michael’ kidnapped by an international human trafficker known as The Doll Maker and forced to deliver a young woman to a violent sadist or forfeit the life of those Munroe loves.

What I particularly enjoyed about this installment is the way in which Munroe is forced to leash her prodigious talent for violence to outwit her enemies, at least for a time. No matter the promises the Dollmaker has made, Munroe knows neither she, Logan or the girl, Neeva, will survive unless she can tip the balance of power in her favour. Given the constant surveillance during the journey across Europe, she has to exploit whatever opportunities arise all the while hoping Bradford can figure out what has happened to her and use the resources of his security agency to rescue Logan leaving her free to rebel against her captor.

Munroe is such an intriguing character, a sociopath capable of deadly violence with finely honed instincts, intelligence and a talent for languages, but in The Doll her single weakness is brought to the fore. With an ability to withstand egregious torture and no fear of her own death, her connections to family, lovers and friends, something she has only just begun to make, is a vulnerability. Yet The Dollmaker underestimates the unique psychology of Munroe and ultimately no matter how much Munroe loses, he will never win.

I thought the plot and motivations in The Doll much stronger than in The Innocent. There are a number of unexpected twists and the pace is intense, despite the narrative being divided between Munroe and Bradford.

I’m not sure The Doll would work as a stand alone, Munroe’s history informs the choices that she makes in this story and without that background, readers may find themselves somewhat puzzled by unique character.
However, as someone familiar with the series, I found the The Doll to be a gripping, hard hitting action thriller and I am already looking forward to Taylor’s next book.

Available to Purchase

@Random House AU I @BoomerangBooks I @Booktopia

via Booko

@Random House US I @AmazonUS I @BookDepository

2013EclecticReader

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Helene Young
    Jun 08, 2013 @ 07:12:44

    Sounds like another one for my TBR pile. I haven’t heard of this writer or series before so I’ll take your advice and start at the beginning. Thanks, Shelleyrae.

    Like

    Reply

  2. stacybuckeye
    Jun 16, 2013 @ 13:10:23

    I read the first one and really liked it. Stevens will be here on her book tour next week and I’ll get to meet her again🙂

    Like

    Reply

  3. Teddyree
    Jun 17, 2013 @ 17:25:36

    A new author and series for me but I like the sound of it. I’m anal so I’d have to start at the beginning, but 3 books I can cope with🙂

    Like

    Reply

I want to know what you think! Your comments are appreciated.

