It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

The Its Monday! What Are You Reading meme is hosted at Book Journey.

Life…

Another busy week trying to keep the kids amused, they go back to school this coming Wednesday (hooray!)

I was very proud to watch my children march in the ANZAC Day parade on Thursday. They marched with their Scout troop and Aleah wore her grandfather’s medals.

march

What I Read Last Week

Dark Horse by Honey Brown

Peace Love and Khaki Socks by Kim Lock

Redstone Station by Therese Creed

Antidote to Murder by Felicity Young

The Immortal Rules by Julie Kagawa

New Posts

(click the titles to read my reviews)

Review: Undertaking Love by Kat French

Review & Giveaway: The Grand Adventures of Madeleine Cain by Emily Craven 1/2

Review: Dark Horse by Honey Brown

Review & Giveaway: The River of No Return by Bee Ridgeway

Review & Giveaway: Peace, Love and Khaki Socks by Kim Lock 1/2

Review: Redstone Station by Therese Creed 1/2

Review: With All My Love by Patricia Scanlan 1/2

What I Am Reading Today

In Allison Sekemoto’s world, there is one one rule left: Blood Calls to blood. Cast out of Eden and separated from the boy she dared to love, Allie will follow the call of blood to save her creator, Kanin, from the psychotic vampire, Sarren. But when the trail leads to Allie’s birthplace in New Covington, what she finds there will the change the world forever – and possibly end human and vampire existence. There’s a new plague on the rise, a strain of the Red Lung virus that wiped out most of humanity generations ago – deadly to humans and vampires alike. The only hope for a cure lies in the secrets Kanin carries. If Allie can get to him in time…

What I Plan To Read This Week

(click the covers to view at Goodreads)

When Callie Reynolds arrives at Glenmore, the property she’s recently inherited, the last thing she wants is to be saddled with a warty horse, an injured neighbour and a mad goose. Haunted by her sister’s death and her fractured family, all she wants is freedom. But Callie hasn’t counted on falling for Matt Hawkins, an ex-soldier determined to fulfil his own dream of land and family. Nor could she predict the way the land, animals and people of Glenmore will capture her heart. Callie is faced with impossible choices. But she must find the courage to decide where her future lies, even if it costs her everything she holds dear.

When Skye meets Ben their attraction is instantaneous and intense. Niether of them has ever felt more in synch – or in love – with anyone in their lives. What happens next will tear them both apart. Into My Arms is a searing love story and a gripping family drama – a shocking, haunting novel in the tradition of Jodi Picoult and Caroline Overington. The kiss ignited something, blew it into being, and afterwards, all Skye could think about was Ben. One day a woman meets a man and falls instantly and irrevocably in love with him. It hits her like a thunderbolt, and she has to have him, has to be with him, regardless of the cost, of the pain of breaking up her existing relationship. She has never felt more in synch-or in love-with anyone in her whole life. So this is how it feels, she thinks to herself, this is what real love feels like. It’s like that for him too; he wants her in a way he’s never wanted anything or anyone before: obsessively, passionately, all-consumingly. She has found her one true love, her soulmate, and he has found his. What happens next will tear them apart and unleash havoc onto their worlds.

Rachel Richards is ready to be a mother. She’s got a great job, a good income, a beautiful inner-cityapartment, and a great group of supportive friends. All she needs is a father. But go-getter Rachel won’t let a little thing like that get in the way of her dreams. After investigating different options to become pregnant, co-parenting, adoption and anonymous sperm donors, Rachel finally settles on a method of conception – using a known donor. Making the decision to choose the biological father for her child, Rachel picks Digby. The single, softly-spoken Canadian with a complicated family background wants to have children, but not have a child. After a few attempts, Rachel is able to conceive and begins to dream about the kind of life she will create for her and her child. But the well-established foundation for her dream soon begins to develop cracks. Lyndall, her nightmare boss, is becoming even more obsessed with ruining Rachel’s career, a desirable, but undeniably married, colleague is beginning to show inappropriate interest and the stress of her impending new life is starting to take its toll on Rachel’s health. Now Rachel is beginning to question if she should have followed the rules of conception after all…

This historical romance/crime is set in Perth during the Second World War. Nell is an Australian journo, and quite the fashionable lady, and Johnny is a captain with the American Press Corps who has a bit of a shady romantic past. Johnny’s ex-lover, Lena Mitrovic, has been convicted of the murder of caddish artist Rick Henzell. Convinced of Lena’s innocence, Johnny ropes Nell in to help him find the truth. During their investigation, they uncover a seedy and unsavoury side to wartime Perth. British, Australian and American servicemen are in the city looking to have a good time and many of the local girls are seeking excitement and romance. What they find is less wholesome. Some of these young girls fall into prostitution and become “Lost Girls”. Nell hopes to improve conditions for these Lost Girls and for the women in Fremantle Gaol. Johnny hopes to find the true killer of Rick Henzell. The chemistry between the two main characters is immediate. They are both attractive, witty, sassy and willing to throw themselves into the fray. But Nell is “engaged” to an Australian lawyer and suspicious of Johnny’s reputation. As well she might be..

While you are here…

Enter to win Out of the Silence by Wendy James. Open worldwide. Closes April 30th

Enter to win The Grand Adventures of Madeleine Cain. Open worlwide. Closes May 5th

Enter to win The River of No Return by Bee Ridgeway. Open worldwide. Closes May 5th

Enter to Win Peace, Love and Khaki Socks. Australian readers only. Closes May 10th

Last chance to vote for me! Voting closes April 30th, click the image below.

Thanks for stopping by, I’ll be along to visit you shortly!

 

38 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Patty
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 09:02:43

    In spite of the gore…I loved Eternity Cure!

    Like

    Reply

  2. laurelrainsnow
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:21:26

    I’m curious about The Rules of Conception….hope you enjoy it. Thanks for sharing, and have a great week.

    Like

    Reply

  3. Teddyree
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:08:58

    Proud mama, nice memories. The Rules Of Conception is supposed to be quite funny, hope so. Have a great week and happy reading 🙂

    Like

    Reply

  4. Teddyree
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:21:21

    PS each time I visit I mean to do it but finally voted for you in Best Aussie Blogs 2013. Good luck 🙂

    Like

    Reply

  5. Sheila (Book Journey)
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 13:38:19

    You have a super line up of books!

    Like

    Reply

  6. Courtney
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 14:32:59

    The Immortal Rules and The Eternity Cure were great! Enjoy your reads this week!

    Like

    Reply

  7. Bettina Grissen
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 15:23:53

    Great books! Heartland seems like a beautiful story, enjoy your reading week,
    kind regards,

    Like

    Reply

  8. Mystica
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 16:32:37

    You’ve got through such a lot this last week! enjoy the reads.

    Like

    Reply

  9. Amy
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 16:33:27

    Into My Arms sounds amazing – adding that one to my TBR list! Look forward to seeing your review!
    Enjoy this weeks reads!

    It’s Monday @ The Reading Realm</a

    Like

    Reply

  10. Leeswammes
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 20:03:54

    Good to hear that things will return to normal from Wednesday. My kids are off (since Thrsday) until coming Monday. Since we missed out on our holiday we are trying to find things to do nearby – today the weather is dismal, though.

    Have a great week!

    Like

    Reply

  11. Kathy Martin
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 22:42:07

    I hope you are enjoying The Eternity Cure as much as I did. Happy reading!

    Like

    Reply

  12. Lori C. (dollycas)
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 23:23:21

    What a variety of reading. Enjoy!!! and enjoy the peace as the kiddos head back to school!

    Like

    Reply

  13. Kristin T.
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 01:51:39

    Taking a Chance looks good – I like books set during WWII.

    Enjoy your books and have a great week!
    ~Kristin @ Always With a Book

    Like

    Reply

  14. readerbuzz
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 02:09:30

    I must get busy and write my reviews!

    Here’s my It’s Monday!

    Like

    Reply

  15. thebookishoutsider
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 08:22:49

    Lots of great books there, Rules Of Conception and Into My Arms both sound like something I would like so they’re on the wishlist! Happy reading this week 🙂

    Like

    Reply

  16. Shannon (Giraffe Days)
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 08:25:32

    Congrats on the nomination!

    I’ll be waiting to hear what you think of Into My Arms – sounds like it could be really good and intense, or really ridiculous. Also curious about The Rules of Conception. Happy reading!

    Like

    Reply

  17. Erin @Quixotic Magpie
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:21:50

    Undertaking Love sounds good! I love quirky villagers in a book. 😉

    Like

    Reply

  18. River City Reader
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:44:14

    Glad to have found your blog! Going to take some time to peek around. Hope you have a great week of reading.

    Like

    Reply

  19. Audrey (Bibliosaurus Text)
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:15:40

    Aww, your kids look so cute. Sounds like a great time.

    I recently finished The Immortal Rules, and am now really eager to get the next in the series. Too bad we’ll have to wait.

    Like

    Reply

  20. Jen G. (The Introverted Reader)
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:25:37

    I have a book by Julie Kagawa around here somewhere but I just haven’t gotten to it yet. I always hear great things about her. I need to put her at the top of a stack so I remember when I go in search of my next read! Enjoy your week!

    Like

    Reply

I want to know what you think! Your comments are appreciated.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s