Review: The Best of Us by Sarah Pekkanen

Title: The Best of Us

Author: Sarah Pekkanen

Published: Washington Square Press April 2013

Status: Read from April 10 to 11, 2013 — I own a copy{Courtesy the publisher/netgalley}

Listen to an Excerpt

My Thoughts:

In The Best Of Us, Sarah Pekkanen explores friendship and marriage when college friends reunite for a week long vacation in Jamaica. It is Dwight’s thirty fifth birthday and his wife, Pauline, has arranged the all expenses paid trip to celebrate. Tina, a harried mother of four is worried about leaving her children behind but can’t resist the lure of temporary escape. Allie is confronted with an uncertain future while Savannah is still recovering from a broken heart after her husband left her.

The villa is a private piece of paradise, with Pauline ensuring their every whim is catered for and the group, which includes Tina’s and Allie’s husband’s, are eager to take advantage of the once in a lifetime experience. Initially, the good humour and college reminiscences flow as freely as the alcohol and good food, allowing the reader to develop a good sense of who these people are and what they mean to each other.

I found it easiest to relate to Tina but each of the women is familiar in one way or another. While I thought the women were well developed and realistically flawed characters, their path in the story is predictable. Allie, for example, who always puts others before herself, commits a selfish act while the sultry Savannah flirts outrageously to hide her own insecurities. The men are marginalised for the most part – even birthday boy, Dwight- though they provide context for the women’s everyday lives.

As a hurricane approaches Jamaica, unrest builds amongst the house guests and the camaraderie is slowly tainted with envy, guilt, secrets and lies. The women of the story are eventually forced to come to terms with the choices they have made and find a way to move forward in their lives.

The Best of Us is an engaging novel, I found it a quick and satisfying read and it is sure to be enjoyed by fans of ensemble women’s fiction.

Available to Purchase

@Simon & Schuster I @Amazon I @BookDepository

Available in Australia from Simon & Schuster

Best of Us_hr

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jenn J McLeod | Come home to the country...
    Apr 13, 2013 @ 16:46:46

    Hmm, sounds like something I should add to my reading list perhaps?????

    Like

    Reply

  2. booksaremyfavouriteandbest
    Apr 13, 2013 @ 17:56:20

    I think we must have been on the same Netgalley trail! I have this and The Mothers sitting in my TBR stack! I’ve just read two quite depressing books in succession so probably need something light like this next.

    Like

    Reply

  3. Patty
    Apr 14, 2013 @ 06:45:39

    Oh me oh my…I have this and need to get to it! I love the way you stick to your reading schedule!

    Like

    Reply

  4. Teddyree
    Apr 16, 2013 @ 19:29:23

    Well put Shelleyrae, I thought this was entertaining but not without peeves

    Like

    Reply

  5. Trackback: The Best of Us by Sarah Pekkanen Audiobook Review | The Reading Date

I want to know what you think! Your comments are appreciated.

